Empanada Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by court84
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good texture, but much too sweet. Would be good for banana empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court84
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I decreased the sugar to about a tbs. and ended up adding some more water to make the dough pliable. My empanadas turned out well. Make sure and roll your dough out well, so they aren't too thick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Dough was too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I used 1 Tb and 1tsp sugar. Had to add a little extra water. Took a LONG time to make. Turned out very good. Needed less time to bake the empanada, maybe about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We blend 1T butter with 6T shortening with 2 knives, then follow these directions. Our filling was a mixture of shredded chicken breasts, onions, hard boiled eggs, green olives, cumin, chili powder, chicken bouillon powder, bay leaf, paprika. Topped with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good empanada dough to start with. I played around with the recipe and decreased the sugar to 1 tablespoon and added 6 tablespoons of shortening. It was still a little too dry for my liking. I like my empanadas soft and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
To dry and hard to work with made the recipe as written but I wish I had read others suggestion I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
it sucked.. dry.. not not soft or bread like at all.. not going to try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made it thick and it was sweet and delicious. Could definitely eat it by itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The dough to have fun with. I filled them with Pepperoni and Mozzarella, mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C. Rodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States