Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These turned out so great! I tried the yeast ones the first time I used my new waffle maker and they never blended but these were wonderful. I froze 4 of them and they reheated beautifully in the toaster. Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My 3 year old and 19 month old approve. I love waffles and unfortunately my mom is a great cook that does not meaure so I have been searching for a great waffle recipe. I found it. I did not wait the total 40 minutes because I was already getting "Mom, I'm hungry!" and they turned out great with a wonderful flavor and my kids ate like i had not feed them in days;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
these were pretty good, next time I'd probably up the sugar and vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I bought my boyfriend the Waring Pro Belgian Waffle Maker for Christmas, but he didn't have a good waffle recipe. I was in search of the "perfect" waffle recipe to replicate the flavor and crispness of hotel-style waffles because he would like to be able to wake up in the morning and pour pre-made batter onto the waffle iron and have a wonderful breakfast in a matter of minutes. I was beginning to get discouraged after trying some other "highly rated" recipes and coming up short--they were either not crispy enough, too crispy, lacking substance, too doughy inside, too oily tasting, or too much like french toast. Although the general ingredients in this recipe aren't too different from others, there's something about it that is spot on! I made a couple of minor changes based upon what I've learned through other trial & error: I added 1/4 cup corn starch for crispness, used 1 3/4 cups milk and 1/2 cup buttermilk to add a little flavor. I beat 2 Tbsp of the sugar in with the egg yolks (actually used Egg Beaters substitute) and 3 Tbsp of the sugar in with the egg whites, which stabilizes and softens the whites, improving the batter's longevity and making it much easier to fold into the batter. I used 2 tsp vanilla and mixed 1 tsp with the yolks and 1 tsp with the whites after they were whipped. I found I got the most uniform brown color when I used very little cooking spray. These were fantastic! They even smelled wonderful! I may try adding malted milk powder next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HottKoko81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
These are the most amazing waffles!!! I highly recommend them. I cooked them for the staff at my restaurant at a breakfast meeting and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Really nice light waffle and easy to make. I'm going to add pecans next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Alot of work, but sooo worth it!! I've been on the look out for a good waffle recipe since we had Mickey Mouse waffles at Disney that were so light and fluffy, these were very close!! I used all purpose flour with addition of 2-3/4 tsp baking soda.. also I did not let the mixture set a full 40 mins, it was more like 10 or 15 mins, but they still turned out wonderful!!! Thanks Chef Emma for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
wonderful recipe. Nice and light. Made 6 big waffles. I used regular white flour and added 1tsp each of baking soda and baking powder. You could use whole wheat flour too. Could reduce the sugar by 2 tbsp to make them a bit less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Fantastic waffles, light and airy plus slightly crispy. Perfect all by themselves or with a touch of real maple syrup. I also did not wait the full amount of time and added baking powder as I did not have self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was a great recipe. I followed the recipe exactly (although may not have completely waited 40 min before cooking). My hubby and daughter loved them too! I froze my leftovers and they were just as yummy popped in the toaster the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States