Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
dont make! eww :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These waffles were dense in comparison to other recipes I have tried on this site. The overall flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Absolutely loves these. Besides adding 1/2c cornflour & a pinch of cinnamon, i left everything as it is. Delish, crispy on the outside & soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I enjoyed my Belgian Waffles. I don't think I waited the 40 minutes, but the texture was still fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
amazing.Leftovers are perfect for snacking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This is a good recipe. But I halfed it. By using only one cup flour (all purpose flour), one egg (separated), one tablespoon sugar, pinch of salt, left out the extract (didnt have any), one cup milk, and one teasp baking powder. It made exactly four waffles in my brand new iron from proctor and silex. And it came out really good. I think the trick is to gently fold in the egg whites and add to iron one time. And to not over mix the flour as that will activate the gulten and make the waffles heavy and more like a bread consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Peter

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe and it makes a LOT of waffles. I had company and I'm a terrible judge of quantity. I doubled the recipe because I didn't want to wait the 40 minutes again if I ran out. I used my Kitchen Aid belgian waffle maker which is double sided and makes two waffles at a time. Each batch of this recipe make 6 BIG Belgian waffles. By doubling the recipe, I ended up with 12 waffles - much more than needed, but the leftovers are delicious heated up in the toaster oven. I did use another reviewer's suggestion and add 1/4 cup of cornstarch for added crispness. These waffles were so good I will not be looking for another basic recipe. THANK YOU! This is my 2nd review. I bought a Krusteaz mix just to have on hand. My daughter had a sleepover last might and I now have a splint on my hand. I thought the mix would be simpler. Well, I still had to add water, oil, and egg, but the waffles tasted nowhere near as good as these. Definitely worth the little bit of extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family love these waffles! Couple of things I do to make it easier is - mix in the whole eggs at start. I don't seperate the egg from the white. It is perfectly fine without beating the whites. I just use regular flour and then add 2.75 baking powder as an earlier reviewer suggested. Also, the longest I have waited before cooking is about 20 minutes with the least being 10 minutes. Either way the waffles are perfect! My boys love to top with fresh fruit and whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I substituted cornstarch for some flour... recommended by another review, I don't think I added enough, they were fluffy, and a little crunchy, I was going crunchy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside. Be sure if you want that effect to add more than 1/2 cup of cornstarch (that's all I added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
FINALLY! A good belgian waffle from an inexpensive (i.e. cheap) waffle iron. I made several modifications per previous reviewers recommendations (added 1/4 c cornstarch, extra 1/4 c milk, 2&3/4 tsp baking powder, and decreased salt), thus the 4 stars. The true trick (thanks to a previous reviewer) is NOT to spray with Pam if you have non-stick. I really think this helped to make it crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Now, I think my cheap iron has uneven heating, so some parts were "doughy" while most parts were perfect. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand, as well as my cheap waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States