Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
4.5 stars actually. I halved recipe and still got 4 waffles. I did like hottcoco81's review and added cornstarch to flour. I used 1 C flour and 1/8C cornstarch. I also used 1 tlbs of sugar while beating egg whites. Didn't have self rising flour so added 1-1/2 tsp baking powder to flour/cornstarch with 1/2 tsp salt. Didn't warm milk (added 1 tsp vinegar to it) just let it come to room temp. I also added fresh ground cinammon and nutmeg. Mine were light, crispy outside and REALLY good. I think adding a bit of cornstarch did the trick for outer crispyness. P.S. If you use baking powder (in leiu of using self-rising flour), and it's old - you won't get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
They were edible.. very chewy, and heavy. Not what you think of for a Belgium waffle. I followed the instructions exactly and they never rose, and therefor were very heavy in the middle. I would use a receipe with dry yeast instead..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
They were fine, but I like the Belgian Waffles recipe with yeast much better. They had a great texture and cooked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I thought these waffles were wonderful along with everyone else who has had them. Do let them rest before cooking them. I think that makes them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was very good. I used regular flour and 2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These were amazing. Best waffles I've ever made. I didn't even follow the steps in the right order cause I was rushing but they were still PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These waffles were great! I didin't have the correct flour, so I did as another reviewer suggested and added baking powder. It worked great!! I can't wait to try adding blueberries or other tasty things to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I simplified this recipe significantly. I mixed the whole eggs into the batter in the first step and skipped the egg white/40 minute wait period altogether. I added some extra water once the batter was made because it appeared to thick for the waffle iron. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These were not good at all. I would suggest using store bought waffle mix or finding a differrent recipie. They tasted very bland and floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unclery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Added 1/4 cornstarch as others have. Great, easy recipe. Will probably use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States