Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and have to say I am so disappointed. It tasted TERRIBLE that even my kids wouldn't eat them, and my kids usually eat anything. It was way too salty and floury. It wasn't crispy, and I even let it cook a little longer, to try and get that crispyness that I like. It was too cake-like. I would not recommend this, and I will not be using this recipe again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Been trying out a lot of waffle recipes. This one wins. Only changed from self rising flour to regular flour with 1 1/2 Tbsp of baking powder. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLLYROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
My husband and I both thought these waffles were easy to make, but the taste and texture were just average/good, not great. They looked great, but were too "cakey" for our taste, and the flavor was nothing exceptional. We like the ones that are crunchy on the outside but moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
ok waffle, too dense for a Belgian recipe. The batter was very very thick even following the recipe exactly. Perhaps more liquid would help with the dense quality. I would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
OMG, I've been looking for years for a waffle recipe like my Grandma used to make! This is it. Didn't change a thing and I was like a little kid again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and these waffles are amazing! I served them with Ghiradelli white chocolate chips and fresh, plump raspberries. All I can say is HEAVENLY! Made on Saturday and making again on Tuesday! Can't wait to eat them. I'll even get up early to wait the forty minutes of rest time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Wonderful waffels. I did not separate the eggs, just beat until smooth, I also used Splenda instead of sugar. Otherwise followed recipe; I think next time I will follow review which suggested to use 1/4 cup cornstarch for crispness. My daughter-in-law suggested adding some cinnamon sugar next time which I will try. Will let everyone know how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
As a gift, received a waffle iron. My daughter gave me a recipe with yeast and honey. On Daily Recipe coincidentally, there was Emma's Belgian Waffles. I had all the ingredients, made them and the recipe is a "keeper". It's easy, delicious and is my husband and I enjoyed it. They are now in the freezer for future use. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I added 1/2 cup apple sauce to the mix. Not only does this add sweetness but moistness, flavor and a little fiber too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Warland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe is wonderful - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States