Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Yum! Really really good! I was hoping to find a recipe that was a bit better than typical waffles and I'm so glad I tried this recipe!! I did have to make my own self rising flour (easy to find out how by searching the web) and I followed the tips that HottKoko81 shared - I topped mine with store bought frozen raspberries thawed - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MinDillard
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These are wonderful! I loved making them and my family adored them. I did however make a change on the butter to stick to my diet. I actually used Country Crock. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by orangetulip
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is absolutely super delicious recipe! I used all exact ingredients and turn out wonderful than i expected! and oh yeah.. i didnt wait for 40 mins as i couldnt wait of how it turns out to be. No sweat Recipe and my husband and i love it. !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Great consistancy, and perfect end result - defintely be keeping this recipe for every time i want waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyPersian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Excellent! I recommend you make a double or triple batch, they take a bit of time to make, so I make lots, then cool the extras and put in ziploc bags and freeze. Pop them in the toaster for a couple minutes and they are just like fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better than bisquick. followed this review {added 1/4 cup corn starch for crispness, used 1 3/4 cups milk and 1/2 cup buttermilk to add a little flavor. I beat 2 Tbsp of the sugar in with the egg yolks & 3 Tbsp of the sugar in with the egg whites, which stabilizes and softens the whites, improving the batter's longevity and making it much easier to fold into the batter. I used 2 tsp vanilla and mixed 1 tsp with the yolks and 1 tsp with the whites after they were whipped. I found I got the most uniform brown color when I used very little cooking spray} came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
As I am relatively new to making Belgian waffles, I decided to try the two top recipes on allrecipes to do a side by side comparison for fun. After my family and our brunch guests tried the two side by side, this recipe was the clear winner. The outside was crispy while the inside was tender, and it had the perfect amount of sweetness. The only thing I changed in the recipe was the amount of vanilla, which I always increase and I subbed AP flour with three teaspoons of baking powder for the self-rising flour since I didn't have any on hand. If you enjoy a yeast flavor, this recipe does not have one...but my taste testers decided that the yeast flavor in the other Belgian waffle recipe didn't make the other waffles necessarily better (and the other waffles were so much more work to prepare).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These waffles had nice texture and weight but they were missing something even though I added extra vanilla, they are just not sweet enough. I am not sure what to add, maybe some cinnamon. I disagree with the other reviews that they don't have enough crunch, I wonder if other reviewers need a better waffle maker. My waffles had a nice crunch to them they just need more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These are good waffles, but they are NOT Belgian waffles. Without the yeast, they just don't taste like the real deal. And I went and bought sefl-rising flour just to make these. With cupboard space at a premium, that was a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
just bought my wife the waffle maker for christmas, yummy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States