Emily's Super Eggplant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Nice way to put eggplant on the menu. Really sweet and tangy. Be sure you really cook the eggplant and other vegetables until very soft. Served with turkey cutlets and garlic bread for a very easy and healthy meal. Husband ate double serving. Added mushrooms the next time and less water to compensate, that was a good variation, so was zucchini...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great way to use eggplant. Since Emeril's Eggplant & Gaahlic pasta sauce came out, I've been wondering how to make it myself. I made a few alterations tho': I prepped the eggplant by "sweating" it out with sea salt(see Eggplant Parmesan II review for instructions). When I added the canned tomatoes, I also added 1/2 cp of red wine, as well as oregano, fresh basil and fresh parsley(add these 3 to taste). I then allowed it all to simmer for an extra 20 minutes. May add carrots next time, I often use them in my regular pasta sauce--helps with the sweetness factor & you won't need to add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Good way to sneak veggies into toddler's spaghetti. I processed the veggies before adding them to the tomato sauce/paste. Also added Kosher salt and Italian seasoning. Still can definitely taste the eggplant, but it's disguised enough that she ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful, Everyone loves this sauce when I serve it. I only use Asain type eggplants from my garden in the sauce everyone agrees the taste is better than the usual Black Beauty eggplant normally found in the stores. I also use canned tomatoes because my eggplants are ready now and the tomatoes aren't ripe yet. It does freeze very well and is delish in the middle of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elco, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I can't believe there are no reviews on this fantastic dish! I have been making this for over a year now-started last summer when we had home grown eggplants that I had no idea what to do with. This is a keeper-needs no alterations to the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I loved this recipe! I added about a TBSP of italian seasoning, and went a little lighter on the sugar. I definately plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
A little on the sweet side and I doctored it with a lot more garlic and a lot less olive oil. I'm sure the oil quantity is a mistake. We're more of a savory than a sweet family, so I left the sugar out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I use S&W Italian Flavor canned tomatoes, leave out the sugar, and only use 1/2 cup of water to make it thicker. I use it over everything from noodles and brown rice, to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I'm glad others really liked this recipe, but I'm not feelin' it. It was okay, but I probably won't make it again. Flavor was so-so...only so much you can do with eggplant I guess. If you like eggplant a lot, try it...you might like it better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I use this recipe as my "base" to home-made spaghetti sauce. I use fresh tomatoes from my garden instead of canned diced tomatoes and the tomato paste. It does have to simmer/cook down longer this way but I think the longer you let it simmer the better it tastes. I also add my own dried seasonings...a dash of bay leaves, 2 teaspoons or so each of Basil and Oregano and then 1 tsp each of Rosemary, Thyme and Marjoram (more or less to taste). My guy is a meat eater so I brown a pound of ground turky and add it to the sauce and let it simmer for another 20 minutes or so...until thickened to correct consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States