Emily's Super Eggplant Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I can't believe there are no reviews on this fantastic dish! I have been making this for over a year now-started last summer when we had home grown eggplants that I had no idea what to do with. This is a keeper-needs no alterations to the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I loved this recipe! I added about a TBSP of italian seasoning, and went a little lighter on the sugar. I definately plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I'm glad others really liked this recipe, but I'm not feelin' it. It was okay, but I probably won't make it again. Flavor was so-so...only so much you can do with eggplant I guess. If you like eggplant a lot, try it...you might like it better than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Nice way to put eggplant on the menu. Really sweet and tangy. Be sure you really cook the eggplant and other vegetables until very soft. Served with turkey cutlets and garlic bread for a very easy and healthy meal. Husband ate double serving. Added mushrooms the next time and less water to compensate, that was a good variation, so was zucchini...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Did not love this. I had to add a lot more spices to improve the favor to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I use S&W Italian Flavor canned tomatoes, leave out the sugar, and only use 1/2 cup of water to make it thicker. I use it over everything from noodles and brown rice, to chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great way to use eggplant. Since Emeril's Eggplant & Gaahlic pasta sauce came out, I've been wondering how to make it myself. I made a few alterations tho': I prepped the eggplant by "sweating" it out with sea salt(see Eggplant Parmesan II review for instructions). When I added the canned tomatoes, I also added 1/2 cp of red wine, as well as oregano, fresh basil and fresh parsley(add these 3 to taste). I then allowed it all to simmer for an extra 20 minutes. May add carrots next time, I often use them in my regular pasta sauce--helps with the sweetness factor & you won't need to add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful, Everyone loves this sauce when I serve it. I only use Asain type eggplants from my garden in the sauce everyone agrees the taste is better than the usual Black Beauty eggplant normally found in the stores. I also use canned tomatoes because my eggplants are ready now and the tomatoes aren't ripe yet. It does freeze very well and is delish in the middle of winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elco, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Good way to sneak veggies into toddler's spaghetti. I processed the veggies before adding them to the tomato sauce/paste. Also added Kosher salt and Italian seasoning. Still can definitely taste the eggplant, but it's disguised enough that she ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love this recipe as is! It's a great way to use up ingredients from the garden (I've even been know to throw in a zucchini). Definitely recommend using fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States