Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was just what I was looking for. When I was a kid we used to visit my grandmother who lived in a tiny little town. There was a little country store and they had a big jar of pickled eggs on the counter. My grandma used to always get me one and they tasted exactly like this. For those who don't like the color, I will say that from what I remember the eggs were always an off white color so that is perfectly normal. I also love the taste of the cloves but maybe if you don't like it you can strain out the pickling spice before pouring the liquid over the eggs. I personally would not change a thing. The recipe is perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Easy to make and they taste fantastic! Im not a sweet pickle type guy but these grew on me VERY fast! I did add a sliced jalapeno pepper to it... Nice touch. Just enough kick to know its there but not so much that its "Hot". This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Great recipe but it must be doubled to make enough liquid! Has a kick, the longer they sit, naturally, the more they have real bite. Let them sit for at least 2 weeks before trying one, but they reach their full potential after at least 6 weeks of sitting in the fridge. Added slices of white onion in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcultlady

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Great recipe! The second time I made these I used 4 tablespoons of pickling spice and added 1 (sliced in half) jalapeno before sealing the jar just for a little added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These were good but a bit mild for my taste. Whenever I finish a jar of pickled beets or jalapeno rings I pack it with eggs. The jalapeno ring juice makes great, snappy ones but the ones made in the beet juice are great too. No heating required. Ready in about four or five days. Easy and, except for the eggs, free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Gerrells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
haven't tried the recipe, but the photo makes the eggs look like they are in the witness protection program!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Della

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Good base recipe - made it this way, then tried it w/ some sugar and jalapenos - excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I use stainless steel or enamel (an aluminum pan can cause the eggs to turn brown as well as giving a metalic taste to the eggs). Cider vinegar will also give color & flavor to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was my first time making and eating pickled eggs, but it was easy and pretty tasty. I bought a 1 quart jar, but only 10 eggs fit (and even then, they were squished to make fit), and only about half the onions and liquid could fit in the jar. The only pickling spice I could find at our grocer was McCormick's, and it contains cloves. I pulled out the cloves because people complained they made the eggs brown and over-powered the flavor. I could still taste the cloves in the eggs, so I must not have gotten them all, or else they infused the rest of the spices. I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic and some mustard seed, but I cut out the peppercorns after reading the other reviews. In all, I wasn't too pleased with the taste of the pickling spice. It tasted like ginger bread or something. I'd prefer a stronger vinegar and garlic taste. I think I might skip the pickling spice next time and add a dozen garlic cloves instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is an egg-cellent recipe. Close to perfect, just a bit of fine tuning for personal taste. Best base recipe for pickled eggs i have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States