Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Tasted like straight vinegar, and the egg whites were really tough. My husband choked down 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is my second time making them, perfect. I even applied the recipe to okra, we'll see...I have to pace myself, two a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Good, pretty easy, but not what I expected and actually somewhat of a letdown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Furches

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
these were ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baylesjeremy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I didn't try these but my husband and his friends love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Love these! I suspect the choice of pickling spice you use will make all the difference. I love Penzeys brand. I halved the recipe to try it. I needed to add more vinegar to cover the eggs, but otherwise kept to the recipe. It was almost a week before I tried one. SCORE! I think I'd like some heat to these and next time will add hot pepper flakes. These will be in my fridge most, if not all, of the time. Will be great in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I've made these a couple times now, and they are great. I do have to increase the brine to cover the eggs. I also add a couple garlic cloves, a red chili pepper, and mustard and dill seeds (approx 1t each). I also substitute part of the white vinegar for rice vinegar. I find this adds a touch of sweetness. I usually marinate for at least a week. *For the person who's eggs turned brown - maybe you used balsamic vinegar? It isn't the same as white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. They tasted OK, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made these and thought they were a little too sour for me, so I added 1/4 cup sugar and they were AWESOME! Taking a bunch on our camping trip, with and without the sugar to see what people like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizpiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is excellent I can not go without having a nice supply Thanx ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States