Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I follow the recipe as is and my hubby just loves these. I make them quite often. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Guess I don't like pickled eggs! The pickling spice was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Sorry, I only found these to be okay but I'm not used to eating eggs this way. I have never made pickled eggs before and normally like pickled items but I found this to be a bit too hearty for me. I tasted mostly vinegar instead of the pickling spices even after allowing to marinate for 2-3 days prior to tasting. I doubled the recipe and made sure to shake the mixture in the fridge several times daily. (FWIW, I used McCormicks Pickling Spices.) I also had the problem with my eggs turning brown and spotted in color and I can only assume it was due to them sitting on the seasoning in the jar. I doubled the brining ingredients because I used a 1/2 gallon Ball canning jar to hold the dozen eggs in. My jar had FAR MORE seasoning in it than is showed in the picture. I may try this again in the future but will try cooking the spices a bit longer next time and perhaps using a bit less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These eggs were ready to eat within hours. I would exclude the peppercorns next time because they left strange little brown spots on the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
These are Delicious and easy to make. My brine had a brownish colouring to it but I think it was from the pickling spice. Not sure if there is a different pickling spice out there or a way to stop that from happening but other than that FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My husband and stepson were talking about pickled eggs that my stepsons grandfather makes. All they knew was that it wasn't beet juice. I found this recipe and decided to try it. They were hooked. I have to triple the batch when I make them or they don't last more than a day. They also have a hard time waiting for the 3 days and haven't complained about any lost flavor. My husband brought some to work and one of the guys wanted the recipe because he's been looking for one and really liked these. I'm not an egg person so I can't give an opinion on them for myself, but judging from the family and friends reactions, I'd say they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I am making these for the 3rd time. Great protein snack while I train for another marathon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I have made these eggs several times and everyone tells me how grat they are. I actually take orders from people to make them for. Than you for the help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Tasted like straight vinegar, and the egg whites were really tough. My husband choked down 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is my second time making them, perfect. I even applied the recipe to okra, we'll see...I have to pace myself, two a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States