Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Good base recipe - made it this way, then tried it w/ some sugar and jalapenos - excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I use stainless steel or enamel (an aluminum pan can cause the eggs to turn brown as well as giving a metalic taste to the eggs). Cider vinegar will also give color & flavor to the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was my first time making and eating pickled eggs, but it was easy and pretty tasty. I bought a 1 quart jar, but only 10 eggs fit (and even then, they were squished to make fit), and only about half the onions and liquid could fit in the jar. The only pickling spice I could find at our grocer was McCormick's, and it contains cloves. I pulled out the cloves because people complained they made the eggs brown and over-powered the flavor. I could still taste the cloves in the eggs, so I must not have gotten them all, or else they infused the rest of the spices. I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic and some mustard seed, but I cut out the peppercorns after reading the other reviews. In all, I wasn't too pleased with the taste of the pickling spice. It tasted like ginger bread or something. I'd prefer a stronger vinegar and garlic taste. I think I might skip the pickling spice next time and add a dozen garlic cloves instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is an egg-cellent recipe. Close to perfect, just a bit of fine tuning for personal taste. Best base recipe for pickled eggs i have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These are the best pickled eggs I've ever had!!! I added 2 cloves of sliced garlic and a couple hot peppers - but that's only because I'm a garlic/hot pepper nut. I let them sit for about 2 months in the fridge before I tried them. Only made 1 dozen...sure wish I'd made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Good tasting basic pickled egg..... the only thing I might consider changing is removing the clove from the pickling spice... that might be the overwhelming flavor I taste... I should have listened to the other reviewer who suggested that... also I am considering adding a little garlic, some red pepper, and some sugar... also I will leave a few more onions uncooked (because I just love them).. but otherwise this recipe seem to work well for me... no troubles at all... they are disappearing fast which is always a good sign... UPDATE: The last time I made these I made the following changes... used only 1 Tablespoon salt... removed most of the cloves from the pickling spice... added 4 cloves worth of minced garlic.... 1 tablespoon sugar... and 1/8 teaspoon of crushed red pepper... Also I love pickled onions so I layered a few extra slices of raw ones with the eggs.. My family said the liked the changed recipe better... I will stick with my changes next time I make it... I definately like eating the extra onion I added...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
To those of you who are getting brown eggs and an off flavor, you need a different pickling spice. DO NOT use a pickling spice that contains clove or the eggs will turn brown and the clove will overpower the eggs. The most common spice company is McCormick's and they have an inordinate amount of clove in their pickling mix. If you are not sure what is in your mix, clove will be slightly larger than a black peppercorn and float in water. If it is in there, take it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
More Stars needed, I cant make them fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I follow the recipe as is and my hubby just loves these. I make them quite often. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Guess I don't like pickled eggs! The pickling spice was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States