Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EricKlaus
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I added one chopped jalapeño with most of the seeds removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Richardh28
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I have made this recipe a few times now. I think the original recipe is good, but the real key is to let them sit for at least two weeks in the fridge. I have also modified it by adding fresh dill and dehydrated red chilis. My whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really enjoyed these eggs. I grew up on pickled eggs, and have made at least 7-8 recipes from this site, and dozens from other sites. I do know my pickled eggs! This recipe is very good. The only thing I'd suggest is to use less salt as these are on the salty side. Otherwise, they look great (no weird "spots" like others have mentioned, and yes I left the clove in mine). The pickling spice does give the liquid a very slight yellow-brown tinge, but who cares!?!?! Is there a rule out there that picked eggs have to be pure white? I'll be making these again. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I have made these numerous times , and am a new cook . But a pickled egg lover for years . Easy , and best of all GREAT . Thanks . Lyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J.C.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Did 5 dozen. Turned out great. Added some juice from pickled hot banana peppers plus a few peppers with the onions. Giving it a week to brew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I put garlic cloves in the bottom of the jar and didn't have any pickling spice on hand so I used a bay leaf and the whole peppercorns. Very tasty and loved the onions in there. Have passed the recipe on to several people who tasted them at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I haven't tried this exact recipe but it is pretty standard base of 2:1 vinegar to water ( or less water). I just wanted to share that pickled eggs which turn brown in white vinegar means they are old eggs. Fresh eggs don't do that. They are fine to eat, but just not actually "farm fresh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
horrible. Threw them out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My boyfriend LOVES pickled eggs, and I was searching for a simple recipe so I could make these quickly and often for him. He adores these! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe here precisely, and he said they were nearly perfect. The next time, I cut the salt in half and he said they were spot on. Thank you for sharing this recipe Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Comeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was just what I was looking for. When I was a kid we used to visit my grandmother who lived in a tiny little town. There was a little country store and they had a big jar of pickled eggs on the counter. My grandma used to always get me one and they tasted exactly like this. For those who don't like the color, I will say that from what I remember the eggs were always an off white color so that is perfectly normal. I also love the taste of the cloves but maybe if you don't like it you can strain out the pickling spice before pouring the liquid over the eggs. I personally would not change a thing. The recipe is perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States