Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Was good, but it seemed like it needed something, so I added a pinch of crushed cloves, a little ketchup, mustard, and a little bit extra vinigar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
For my tastes, this is a good base recipe--I like my sloppy joes spicy (with chili powder and cayenne pepper) but also a little sweet and very slightly tangy. In order to get what I want out of the recipe, I have to alter it quite a bit. For me, there is way too much tomato paste--I only use 2-3 tablespoons. In general, the spice combo is good, but I have to alter the amounts, and I add worcester sauce and a little mustard and a few other things. I still haven't gotten the perfect ratio for my tastes, but until I get my recipe perfected, I keep using this recipe as a general guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
These were amazing! My husband and I both loved them! After he was done eating on the bun, he picked up a fork and ate just the meat! It was a tad too spicy for me - but I'm a weeny! I will make these again, with less chili powder. Thank you! thank you! for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Nothing more than chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This recipe was awesome and delicious. But I did add 2 8-ounce cans of tomato sauce instead of the water. Kind of made it a little more saucier. My 4 kids (ages 18 months, 8 yrs, 9 yrs, and 11 yrs old) loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loraine Cruz Kroeze

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Love these but with less chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
The first time I tried this recipe it became a favorite for any and all guests and family memebers that have the pleausre of sitting down at my table or passing through my kitchen. Not one person has ever complained, they all love this recipe and I would be hard pressed to try another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Teresa Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Was not particularly fond of these sloppy joes--I have a better recipe than this one. My husband did not care for these & usually he'll eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I thought this turned out well! I used 2 lb.s of ground turkey in this recipe instead of ground beef. I also added a half a can of tomato sauce to the paste---as I don't really like the taste of the tomato paste by itself. I added 2 T of sweet relish, and a few drops of worcestershire sauce, and 1 T ketchup, and a little more garlic. The rest of the recipe I did not change--for some reason my sloppy joes did not seem to taste like chili as some other reviewers mentioned... (Had these on whole wheat buns as well.) Will make this again, thought it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States