Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
We love this recipe..so fresh and yummy compared to canned stuff! I use ground turkey, but otherwise follow the recipe... I dont' really measure carefully though and so sometimes it is more spicy and sometimes more sweet, but always great! I disagree with the person who said this recipe doesn't taste like sloppy joe...unless you just prefer the canned kind! This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Wade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have been using this recipe since 2000. I love it! I have never made sloppy joes out of a can since. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I used ground turkey in this to make it healthier. I also left out the bell pepper b/c my hubby doesn't care for them. These were awesome! The sauce is very flavorful and thick so the Joes aren't too sloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
My son would eat this every day if I let him! Found this recipe over a year ago, and if we have ground beef or turkey in the house (I've even make it with 3 grain tempeh) he get's mad if I make something else. I increase the vinegar and cut back a bit on the cumin and oregano, but that's just my taste. Sometimes I have to add more tomato paste and water, or tomato sauce depending on how moist the meat is. We all love it, and it NEVER lasts! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The best after a few little changes...beer instead of water (I used Heineken), more tomato paste, half sugar, a half measure more of the spices, cider vinegar instead of white, and softened the onions and peppers before adding to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Go Emily! This doesn't come close to chili, whoever that moron is that said so. It does have a great sweetness and light and zesty kick. We made a double recipe and added some beer also. Serving on toasted buns with Cottage Fries and Homemade Bowtie Pasta Salad. Let's Eat! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is a great Sloppy Joe recipe! Very tasty and flavorful. I have made this several times and always use ground turkey, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Great..It is nothing like chili. It is the first sloppy jo recipe that my kids will eat. It was also good because I had everything in my pantry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
So good! I cooked it up and then put it in the crockpot. Great for a football party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Sardinia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Made this last night. The teenager and the husband both like it VERY much. GREAT Sloppy Joe's. Just watch the water - I used about half the amount called for. I also grated the red bell pepper, onion and pressed the garlic. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Triadelphia, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States