Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I am commenting on this recipe because it's so similar to how I make my Joes that I feel I don't need to practically duplicate this by adding my own. My differences were to add some chopped celery, I didn't use the cumin or garlic, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 tbsp. Most of the rest of the ingredients were close enough for me to feel sure that they would replicate what would have been used in the school cafeteria where I first fell in love with sloppy joes! The tomato paste is something I'm sure they would have used in a school kitchen to prepare so many servings. Ketchup would have been too expensive and the ketchup based sauces that I've tried, taste too much like ketchup and that flavor is not what I remembered from my first taste experience. The tomato paste along with the brown sugar, the chili powder and a little vinegar gave the sauce the basic flavor profile I was looking for. The rest of the additions can vary to suit anyones ideal. Thanks for this, it's perfect at it's heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Fast, tasty and a hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Both my fiance and I did not care for these at all. I defrosted 1 lb. of ground turkey this past weekend (intending to make these then), so I used that instead of the 1.5 lb. of beef called for (the missing 1/2 lb. didn't make a difference, IMHO). I pre-chopped my veggies too, so prep was extremely quick. If it weren't for these being too sweet, I might have awarded one more star. And boy are these S-W-E-E-T!!! Emily's recipe reminds me of sweet & sour beef (hmmm...). In all fairness, I didn't try any of the top reviewer's suggestions for improvement, so I can't be too critical.... I definitely think I could have used more liquid (doubling and replacing water w/ beer would have helped with that). My only other change was to top fresh kaiser rolls w/ a lg. heap of meat, sprinkle w/ shredded cheddar & then spread the "tops" w/ a generous slathering of softened butter (1 stick), smoked paprika (1/2 t) & garlic salt (1 t worth - my butter was unsalted, or else I would have used garlic powder). I wrapped ea. sandwich tightly w/ a double-thickness of aluminum foil & baked at 350 deg. for 30 min. My sandwich tops were nice & toasty (mmmm...)! My MIL "to be" does this when she makes her stromboli samies, so I thought I'd try w/ this too (why not???). For a quick, economical meal, I can't complain, but unfortunately I won't be repeating this again (my fiance might disown me - haha!). Thanks anyways. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Add some cheese slices (American or Provolone) - adds a creaminess to the sandwich! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Liles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I honestly did not care for this. I like the bold and spicy manwich sloppy joes and this tasted very sweet. Too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Sorry! This recipe sounded great...but way too sweet. Red peppers add sweet and 3 tblsp brown sugar was way too much for my family. If I did it again, I would start with less than 1 tblsp brown sugar and add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I thought this recipe tasted very good. It was nice to find this recipe because I usually always have these ingredients on hand. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne EE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Delicious!! I only had 1 pound of ground beef, but used the recipe just the same and the joes turned out perfectly! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
My family loved the recipe thanks for posting it. I did take liberty to try it with the beer suggestion another poster mentioned and loved it even more(3/4 cup beer + 3/4 cup water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
no sure why but this came out way to spicy hot for my taste, my husband like it o.k. that's why I gave it a two and not a one. I don't plan to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States