Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Emmy this was a wonder tasty recipe, I just tried it it was really good I did not have ground cumin but I did use some Greek seasoning and it came out tasting really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashby, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These are the best sloppy joes I've ever had! I've made this recipe for several years now and when I make it I substitute ground turkey. It is a hit with my family every time. I've also made it for a teacher dinner once and it was well received. I'm glad many others have generally rated this recipe so high. Thank you to HBIC for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Made it exactly as shown and it was divine. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phatchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I pretty much followed it as is. The only ingredient I did not have was paprika. Also I used a can n a half of tomato sauce instead of paste/water. I'm not one to use measuring spoons but eye all the ingredients. I think what makes this so good is the mixture of vinegar, chili powder and brown sugar. I whipped up a little extra to add to it! Definitely better than manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedwards19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I thought this was a wonderful recipe, tasted great. I plan to use it from now on. Thank you very much Emily for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This recipe is very good for people who want something a little different from your average sloppy joes. It's much sweeter than what I'm used to, and, if you're not careful with the spices, it can get a bit out of control with the spiciness. I found that the brown sugar wasn't needed, the red peppers added enough sweetness! Also, the recipe called for twice as much water as I needed. I recommend tweaking a few things because this suits a specific palate, but all in all, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this for our annual bonfire. I used 6 lbs of hamburger! It was really delicious and I think the flavor was so different than any other recipes I've tried. I liked this one because it didn't call for catsup, which to me is way too sweet. Good job Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Husband loves these, thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These are amazing! So much better than a can of manwich which my kids don't like. But they really loved this and even had seconds. I didn't have a red pepper on hand, so I omitted it. They are usually expensive at our small town store so I don't buy them unless they are on sale. I was short on energy and umph otherwise I would have added some grated carrots which would be a great way to hide a veggy. Green peppers could also be used in place of the red or use both plus the carrots. I often chop carrots in the food processor to tiny bits and then brown them with the onions before adding ground beef. Adds a veggy bulk to the meal..... Anywho we loved this. I didn't measure the spices, just palmed them and it still turned out great! I did make it a tad spicy which we prefer. I did add a bit more water than stated on the recipe as well. I didn't measure as I just added till what I felt was good using HOT water (190` from a water boiler we keep on the counter) not tap cool water. That may have made a difference as it evaporated sooner with the high heat of the pan. But anywho we loved this and I'll be making it again with freshly made buns that I make almost daily for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Great flavor, a little spicey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States