Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These are the best sloppy joes I've ever had! I've made this recipe for several years now and when I make it I substitute ground turkey. It is a hit with my family every time. I've also made it for a teacher dinner once and it was well received. I'm glad many others have generally rated this recipe so high. Thank you to HBIC for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Made it exactly as shown and it was divine. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phatchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I pretty much followed it as is. The only ingredient I did not have was paprika. Also I used a can n a half of tomato sauce instead of paste/water. I'm not one to use measuring spoons but eye all the ingredients. I think what makes this so good is the mixture of vinegar, chili powder and brown sugar. I whipped up a little extra to add to it! Definitely better than manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedwards19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I thought this was a wonderful recipe, tasted great. I plan to use it from now on. Thank you very much Emily for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This recipe is very good for people who want something a little different from your average sloppy joes. It's much sweeter than what I'm used to, and, if you're not careful with the spices, it can get a bit out of control with the spiciness. I found that the brown sugar wasn't needed, the red peppers added enough sweetness! Also, the recipe called for twice as much water as I needed. I recommend tweaking a few things because this suits a specific palate, but all in all, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this for our annual bonfire. I used 6 lbs of hamburger! It was really delicious and I think the flavor was so different than any other recipes I've tried. I liked this one because it didn't call for catsup, which to me is way too sweet. Good job Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Husband loves these, thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These are amazing! So much better than a can of manwich which my kids don't like. But they really loved this and even had seconds. I didn't have a red pepper on hand, so I omitted it. They are usually expensive at our small town store so I don't buy them unless they are on sale. I was short on energy and umph otherwise I would have added some grated carrots which would be a great way to hide a veggy. Green peppers could also be used in place of the red or use both plus the carrots. I often chop carrots in the food processor to tiny bits and then brown them with the onions before adding ground beef. Adds a veggy bulk to the meal..... Anywho we loved this. I didn't measure the spices, just palmed them and it still turned out great! I did make it a tad spicy which we prefer. I did add a bit more water than stated on the recipe as well. I didn't measure as I just added till what I felt was good using HOT water (190` from a water boiler we keep on the counter) not tap cool water. That may have made a difference as it evaporated sooner with the high heat of the pan. But anywho we loved this and I'll be making it again with freshly made buns that I make almost daily for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Great flavor, a little spicey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It's tastes like sloppy Joes when the cumin is left out. Since we don't like excessively sweet food, I cut the brown sugar and added a bit more vinegar for some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States