Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Easily the worst sloppy joe recipe I have ever tried. Very bland. One slight step up from plain ground beef on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Ultimate to-die-for sloppy joes on a winter night. I've made this recipe for quite some time. Every time I serve it for guests, I'm always asked for the recipe. Ah....if only I could claim it! Thank you for a great recipe. Reading some reviews, sounds like there might be some taste differences going on. That being said, I would recommend playing around with the chili powder, brown sugar and garlic. My husband has had it several times with me and said tonight was one of the best. I did keep the brown sugar as is, I put in two teaspoons of chili powder for our guests (instead of three/one tablespoon) and put in tons on garlic. But then again, I'm one of those people who looked at the first initial 3 cloves of garlic and immediately doubled it! One thing I've found through the years is the way garlic is presented into a dish. I used to mince it, but found a Pampered Chef garlic press at a party I can't live without. Not only is it faster and easier than mincing, but it releases the juices of the garlic into your dishes (a tip for not only this dish, but others as well). All in all, I obviously could go on about it. I had a very particular person at my table tonight and he loved it, so I knew this was the ultimate score. Thank again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Not very good. Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Even though I was missing some of thef spices, I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Great recipe! However Sloppy Joes II is a bit easier and just as good if not better. This recipe does have a different flavor that is a nice change from most sloppy joe recipes. It's not chili, that's for sure. It is definitely worth a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
First off, let me say that I used this recipe to make the best sloppy joes i had ever had last night. Extremely tasty recipe, but I have a couple recommendations that people might find useful: 1) Start the onion and peppers in olive oil before adding the beef. I know I didn't really like the idea of crunching in sloppy joes. The veges take a while to soften the beef cooks fast, so I softened the veges before adding the beef. 2) Cut the brown sugar in half. This is probably just a taste thing with me, but I thought it came out a little too sweet. 3) Add ketchup and redhot. Again this is just my preference, but I thought the dish benefitted greatly from mixing in a healthy dose of ketchup and redhot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
These were really good sloppy joes. I used 2 lbs. of ground turkey so I added extra of all of the spices etc. I also felt they were a little dry so I did addd some tomato sauce as well. Let them simmer for a while and the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Was good, but it seemed like it needed something, so I added a pinch of crushed cloves, a little ketchup, mustard, and a little bit extra vinigar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
For my tastes, this is a good base recipe--I like my sloppy joes spicy (with chili powder and cayenne pepper) but also a little sweet and very slightly tangy. In order to get what I want out of the recipe, I have to alter it quite a bit. For me, there is way too much tomato paste--I only use 2-3 tablespoons. In general, the spice combo is good, but I have to alter the amounts, and I add worcester sauce and a little mustard and a few other things. I still haven't gotten the perfect ratio for my tastes, but until I get my recipe perfected, I keep using this recipe as a general guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
These were amazing! My husband and I both loved them! After he was done eating on the bun, he picked up a fork and ate just the meat! It was a tad too spicy for me - but I'm a weeny! I will make these again, with less chili powder. Thank you! thank you! for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States