Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Husband loves these, thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
These are amazing! So much better than a can of manwich which my kids don't like. But they really loved this and even had seconds. I didn't have a red pepper on hand, so I omitted it. They are usually expensive at our small town store so I don't buy them unless they are on sale. I was short on energy and umph otherwise I would have added some grated carrots which would be a great way to hide a veggy. Green peppers could also be used in place of the red or use both plus the carrots. I often chop carrots in the food processor to tiny bits and then brown them with the onions before adding ground beef. Adds a veggy bulk to the meal..... Anywho we loved this. I didn't measure the spices, just palmed them and it still turned out great! I did make it a tad spicy which we prefer. I did add a bit more water than stated on the recipe as well. I didn't measure as I just added till what I felt was good using HOT water (190` from a water boiler we keep on the counter) not tap cool water. That may have made a difference as it evaporated sooner with the high heat of the pan. But anywho we loved this and I'll be making it again with freshly made buns that I make almost daily for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Great flavor, a little spicey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It's tastes like sloppy Joes when the cumin is left out. Since we don't like excessively sweet food, I cut the brown sugar and added a bit more vinegar for some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I really like this recipe because there is no ketchup in it. To me, ketchup is a bit trashy to have in recipe unless it's in a dip or a spread. I've made used this recipe many times and the only thing I could suggest is to maybe only use 1 Tbp. of sugar. But if you like it the traditional sweet taste stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe. Nice balance of sweet and smokey. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Made this for my sister-in-law's babyshower. It was a huge hit and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Total hit with my family. Next time I will slightly decrease the sugar. I also increased the vinegar by about 1/2 ts and added a ts of worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
We loved this recipe. My family is not a fan of the sweet sloppy joes. They love the tangy-ness of this dish. Thanks for postingp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Not a "love it, but then" recipe. It's Easy, delicious AS IS! I like the flavor better than Manwich or the packets of seasoning you can buy. I omitted green/red pepper (family isn't a fan) and used plain tomato sauce instead of paste/water, and it turned out just as saucy. Another time, I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, for another layer of flavor. STILL THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States