Emily's Famous Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I have used this recipe for years and always make it as is. When anyone changes even one ingredient it is no longer this recipe so their rateing is useless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Totally tasted like chili, my kids hated it. They usually love sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Tasted like spaghetti with the taste of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Emmy this was a wonder tasty recipe, I just tried it it was really good I did not have ground cumin but I did use some Greek seasoning and it came out tasting really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashby, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These are the best sloppy joes I've ever had! I've made this recipe for several years now and when I make it I substitute ground turkey. It is a hit with my family every time. I've also made it for a teacher dinner once and it was well received. I'm glad many others have generally rated this recipe so high. Thank you to HBIC for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Made it exactly as shown and it was divine. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phatchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe was delicious. I pretty much followed it as is. The only ingredient I did not have was paprika. Also I used a can n a half of tomato sauce instead of paste/water. I'm not one to use measuring spoons but eye all the ingredients. I think what makes this so good is the mixture of vinegar, chili powder and brown sugar. I whipped up a little extra to add to it! Definitely better than manwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedwards19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I thought this was a wonderful recipe, tasted great. I plan to use it from now on. Thank you very much Emily for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This recipe is very good for people who want something a little different from your average sloppy joes. It's much sweeter than what I'm used to, and, if you're not careful with the spices, it can get a bit out of control with the spiciness. I found that the brown sugar wasn't needed, the red peppers added enough sweetness! Also, the recipe called for twice as much water as I needed. I recommend tweaking a few things because this suits a specific palate, but all in all, I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this for our annual bonfire. I used 6 lbs of hamburger! It was really delicious and I think the flavor was so different than any other recipes I've tried. I liked this one because it didn't call for catsup, which to me is way too sweet. Good job Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy VanScoyk Foreacre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States