Emily's Famous Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This pretty tasty for yogurt...I am a HUGE sour cream fan. I follwed the recipe exactly but next time a may toss in some herbs just for a different flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
What a difference it makes to saute the onions-- wonderful onion flavor yet sweet-- delicious. I cheated and made the recipe with sour cream but it was a hit so it was woth it. I also added fresh finely diced cilantro. Kudos to a simple yet great tasting dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
So while the recipe calls for using yogurt to make it healthier and lower in fat, I could not help but use sour cream instead. It was awesome with the freshly sauteed onions and the longer it sat in the refrigerator, the better it tasted! We liked this served with potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I'm sure there would be a difference if you used sour cream instead of plain yogurt. But that would be defeating the purpose and that's not what this recipe calls for. I think this recipe is great and I'm grateful that it doesn't call for sour cream because I live in Kenya, where you can't get sour cream. Maybe I've been away from the States for a while because this recipe was excellent to me and I don't think you need the sour cream. At least try it with the yogurt first to see if you like it. Thanks, Emily, for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
We drained the yogurt as some have suggested, and love the results! Instead of salt, we used an herb seasoning. This is a great onion dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
What a great dip! nobody can believe it's made with yogurt, and it tastes a lot better than anything made with onion soup mix. I suggest adding a sprinkle of chopped parsley or minced green onion for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Great dip! You can trick people into snacking healthy. I did a few things different that makes it even better. Instead of using butter, I used like half the amount of peanut oil (1 tablespoon). I used half shallot/half onion,and I cooked them for a really long time on low heat until caramelized, then deglazed with white vermouth. I also left out the vinegar. This is a versatile dip, but I think the best thing about it is that it can be made extremely low fat, and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Yummy dip! next time I will chopped the onions even finer than I did. It made a yummy dip for perogies. I also mixed it with Salsa and enjoyed it with my tacos mmmmmm! An great treat! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Very happy with this dip recipe. A little runny for my taste, so I placed half of the yogurt over cheese cloth overnight to drain some excess liquid. Mixed it all together in the morning and was the perfect consistency! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is a healthy alternative for those who like an onion flavored dip. It has a "real deal" taste factor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States