Emily's Famous Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I pulled a Rachael Ray and did a caramelization of the onion with some garlic (I used a huge onion and three cloves minced garlic) and just let it hang out in the skillet for about 25 minutes. I used half FF sour cream and half NF plain yogurt. Couldn't even tell that it was lower in fat. Little sea salt and fresh ground pepper and you have a nom-worthy dip. We ate it with Romanitas and pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
With some revisions, I used this recipe at my last superbowl party and it turned out great!! People are funny about yogurt, so instead of 2 cups yogurt, I added 1 cup yogurt and 1 cup lowfat sourcream. I also added a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1 tsp onion powder to add more flavor. The flavor will intensify if refrigerated for a day. I loved the sauted onions, nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Great dip! You can trick people into snacking healthy. I did a few things different that makes it even better. Instead of using butter, I used like half the amount of peanut oil (1 tablespoon). I used half shallot/half onion,and I cooked them for a really long time on low heat until caramelized, then deglazed with white vermouth. I also left out the vinegar. This is a versatile dip, but I think the best thing about it is that it can be made extremely low fat, and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
What a great dip! nobody can believe it's made with yogurt, and it tastes a lot better than anything made with onion soup mix. I suggest adding a sprinkle of chopped parsley or minced green onion for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Appreciated a healthier onion dip. Made 24 hours in advance for a dinner party and, though it was complimented by the guests, a lot was left over. I'm still eating it. You can't tell it's yogurt and it tastes almost like sour cream and onion. Maybe I'm too used to sour cream, but it just seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Excellent dip Emily! I love yogurt so this was no problem for me. I too strained out the liquid overnite using cheesecloth as I like my dips on the thicker side. I added garlic and onion powders and chopped green onion for a bit of color. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
What a difference it makes to saute the onions-- wonderful onion flavor yet sweet-- delicious. I cheated and made the recipe with sour cream but it was a hit so it was woth it. I also added fresh finely diced cilantro. Kudos to a simple yet great tasting dip recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is a healthy alternative for those who like an onion flavored dip. It has a "real deal" taste factor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Very happy with this dip recipe. A little runny for my taste, so I placed half of the yogurt over cheese cloth overnight to drain some excess liquid. Mixed it all together in the morning and was the perfect consistency! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This pretty tasty for yogurt...I am a HUGE sour cream fan. I follwed the recipe exactly but next time a may toss in some herbs just for a different flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States