Emily's Famous Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
So while the recipe calls for using yogurt to make it healthier and lower in fat, I could not help but use sour cream instead. It was awesome with the freshly sauteed onions and the longer it sat in the refrigerator, the better it tasted! We liked this served with potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Appreciated a healthier onion dip. Made 24 hours in advance for a dinner party and, though it was complimented by the guests, a lot was left over. I'm still eating it. You can't tell it's yogurt and it tastes almost like sour cream and onion. Maybe I'm too used to sour cream, but it just seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
It does thicken up a bit after standing overnight and the onion flavor does increase. Still I could not fool myself into thinking this was "real" onion dip. Not even close. This might go good as a spread for a gyro. Very health dip I must admit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Excellent dip Emily! I love yogurt so this was no problem for me. I too strained out the liquid overnite using cheesecloth as I like my dips on the thicker side. I added garlic and onion powders and chopped green onion for a bit of color. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is a healthy alternative for those who like an onion flavored dip. It has a "real deal" taste factor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
With some revisions, I used this recipe at my last superbowl party and it turned out great!! People are funny about yogurt, so instead of 2 cups yogurt, I added 1 cup yogurt and 1 cup lowfat sourcream. I also added a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1 tsp onion powder to add more flavor. The flavor will intensify if refrigerated for a day. I loved the sauted onions, nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Will make again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was good, but I couldn't help but think, "Something's missing." That "something" is sour cream. This would've been awesome with sour cream! My husband loved this recipe, saying it remined him of the processed store-bought onion dip he ate as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Very happy with this dip recipe. A little runny for my taste, so I placed half of the yogurt over cheese cloth overnight to drain some excess liquid. Mixed it all together in the morning and was the perfect consistency! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This pretty tasty for yogurt...I am a HUGE sour cream fan. I follwed the recipe exactly but next time a may toss in some herbs just for a different flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States