Emily's Famous Onion Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Very good. The yogurt should be drained and some hot sauce should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious -- use plain GREEK yogurt for a thicker dip. Adding one tablespoon of sour cream to the yogurt imparts a distinctly "sour cream" flavor to the entire dip. This was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKMELVIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was ok, but IMO, it was quite bland...like it was missing something. I ended up adding some green onions, garlic powder, parmesan cheese and a little dry ranch dressing mix to give this some more flavor. I agree, it's definately healthy, but sort of lacking flavor-wise. After the additions, I was more pleased with it. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Not very flavorful but a good idea for keeping it healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I pulled a Rachael Ray and did a caramelization of the onion with some garlic (I used a huge onion and three cloves minced garlic) and just let it hang out in the skillet for about 25 minutes. I used half FF sour cream and half NF plain yogurt. Couldn't even tell that it was lower in fat. Little sea salt and fresh ground pepper and you have a nom-worthy dip. We ate it with Romanitas and pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
We drained the yogurt as some have suggested, and love the results! Instead of salt, we used an herb seasoning. This is a great onion dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I made two versions of this recipe. One exactly as the recipe is written and one with half nonfat plain yogurt and half reduced fat sour cream. The one with the sour cream was much creamier and richer than the one with all yogurt, although it did have a lot more calories. I also added a few cloves of diced garlic to each of them since I felt like it was missing a little something. With the addition of garlic, I would make either version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
for those insisting on sour cream, why not use non fat or reduced fat sour cream? I'm sure Emily's Onion Dip was to keep it low fat by using the yogurt. (smile)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I'm sure there would be a difference if you used sour cream instead of plain yogurt. But that would be defeating the purpose and that's not what this recipe calls for. I think this recipe is great and I'm grateful that it doesn't call for sour cream because I live in Kenya, where you can't get sour cream. Maybe I've been away from the States for a while because this recipe was excellent to me and I don't think you need the sour cream. At least try it with the yogurt first to see if you like it. Thanks, Emily, for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was a very easy and tasty dip. I used sour cream instead of yogurt. I will try it again adding garlic. I think that addition will boost it to a 5-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States