Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
The instructions in this recipe fails. This was my third time making marshmallows and wanted to try something different so I have this recipe a go. I ended up with chunks of sugar/gelatin. The instructions just aren't clear. When I add the gelatin to the heated sugar and I add it immediately to the egg whites? Do I wait for the eruption to die down? Do I stir the sugar/water/syrup mixture while waiting for it to come to temp or do I leave it alone? With some tweaking I think the results could be great but I'm not even going to bother and just try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I used this recipe to make chocolate covered eggs for Easter. The marshmallow part was relatively easy to make, but not easy enough to make my own marshmallows rather than buy them from the store! I used a pastry bag with no tip to make marshmallow shapes with the mixture before it hardened. This was not very easy, and the mixture hardened before I could turn all of it into eggs. After letting them sit overnight, I dusted them with a little powdered sugar and then dipped the eggs in chocolate coating. They tasted just like the marshmallow eggs from the store! My family really loved them, and they looked and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This recipe is great. However, I dusted the pan with cornstarch rather than powdered sugar, as that's what the manufacturers use, and it costs less. For Easter, I filled an oblong pan about half full of cornstarch, then used a plastic Easter egg to make impressions in the cornstarch. Then I put the marshmallow into the impressions. After it set up, I dipped the marshmallow eggs in chocolate, and added icing decorations after the chocolate set up. Voila! Marshmallow Easter eggs! I used an extra large oblong pan, and a medium sized plastic egg. I had room in the pan to make 12 eggs, and had marshmallow left over, which I put into a square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Ooey-gooey goodness all the way! Thanks for the reviews, the kids and I were prepared and conquered all! The only thing we need advise on are the formation of the Peeps. We put the mallow into a bag and starting piping right away, but they melted into themselves. We waited about 5 minutes, but then blobs were oozing from the bag. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Golding

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Wrangell, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I made homemade peeps and they didn't turn out as well as I expected. The marshmallow was too soft to hold the beak peeks! They were still cute but the directions provided by allrecipes staff aren't very good and the main picture they show is very different than the step by step directions that show you how to make a very different little chick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a great recipe. But you should have a Kitchen Aid mixer, I don't, the fluff climbed up my beaters.I made the marshmallows, then the chewy caramel from this site. I layered some caramel over the marshmallow, sprinkled some nuts on, then dipped in almond bark. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This first time I made this the marshmallows didn't turn out. But that was my fault because I didn't mix the marshmallows long enough and I didn't have a candy thermometer. I strongly recommend buying a candy thermometer to make this recipe. The second time I made these they turned out wonderfully. Everybody devoured these marshmallows. This recipe would be great for making your own marshmallow chicks at easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
So very yummy! This was my first time attempting marshmallows so I read the reviews and then followed the recipe with one sub. I didn't have unflavored gelatin, so I used a package of sugar free strawberry jello. By the other reviews I was expecting this to take awhile,but I think from prep to clean-up took 30 minutes tops! I did use my stand mixer which moved things along. I would deff. recommend this recipe and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because we didn't think they tasted any different than store bought and they're much more work. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States