Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I did not care for it at all! lousy instructions, the egg white and the gelatin separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is good standard recipe but I have to agree with others that if you're going to do the work you definitely should be making them flavored. As is I'm sure this makes good plain marshmallows but with some additions it made great specialty marshmallows. I'm very grateful for the reviews made here because I wouldn't have known to use a big pan...thank you. I tried the cappuccino idea out and it was amazing. Just mixed together unsweetended cocoa powder, instant espresso, cinnamon, vanilla and boiling water . Once I combined the syrup, gelatin and egg whites together I added the cappuccino mix. Keep in mind this will thin out the marshmallow mix so you'll have to whip it for longer. I probably left my mixer on medium for 3-4 minutes and the consistency thickened up perfectly. Just make sure it looks like something you'd have to spread out (not pour) into the dish...similar to a brownie batter. I can't wait to try other variations like pumpkin spice or white chocolate. It's not a difficult process but it requires some time and cleanup. Still worth it in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is the first marshmallow recipe I've used with egg whites, so I was curious to see how it came out versus the sugar/gelatin only version. I thought the amount of gelatin was too high, so I cut it down to one packet per cup of sugar and it turned out perfectly. These were much lighter than my previous ones and they kept their volume. They also weren't crazy sweet, with is what I like. I plan on making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The kids and I loved this recipe. We used my favorite vanilla from Cozumel, Mexico and it took on that great flavor. We colored sugar by adding a few drops of food coloring to about 3/4 cup of regular sugar in a sandwich sized zip lock bag. We used the colored sugar to coat our "Peeps".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Still cooling, but I snuck a taste or two while they were still hot and it was really yummy! I have some leftover yellow food coloring and banana flavoring, so I may add those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I just couldn't waite to make these. My husband loves peeps. He said these were really great. They do taste good, but I couldn't get them to look like peeps. I tried putting some into a plastic bag to pipe out. That didn't work at all. I ended up useing a spoon and my finger. I will be trying again. I don't have a themomature but I thought it was easy to make. Wish I could have made them into shapes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love to experiment with recipes. Since joining Allrecipes I have had more fun making and baking things that I was always was curious about. This recipe has satisfied the closet chemist in Me and the candy maker fantasy, at onetime . I impressed Myself! Thank You Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These are very good, but there is too much vanilla. Next time I will only use half as much, maybe less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These didn't turn out quite the way I expected - I think after reading some reviews I will add more flavoring next time. Also they were VERY difficult to cut, perhaps piping them out is the best answer. I'll likely try again but after reading more into other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
very messy and time consuming but WELL worth the time!! these are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States