Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I royally botched this recipe the first time I made it, make sure you use a large enough saucepan so that when you add the gelatin, the foaming won't spill over (a whisk and slow drizzle of the melted gelatin helps, too). The second time was a delicious home run. I do love this recipe as written, but is also wonderful with 1/2 tsp of coconut extract, or a few drops of almond extract. I make chocolate marshmallows by adding 2-3T of cocoa powder which are a hit. Sometimes I add a few drops of food coloring, spread thin on a baking sheet, and cut out with cookie cutters-the perfect touch to make hot cocoa a little more elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Awesome!!! so exciting to make my own marshmallows!! :D I would say to pour the gelatin into the syrup very slowly and carefully because at first it will bubble up really high - just keep whisking it until it settles & then pour the rest of the gelatin in. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Sorry, did not like these at all. Extremely moist and while the set up just fine, they tend to be more like a thick mousse rather than marshmallow. I also made a different recipe right after this with 3/4 cup of light corn syrup and no egg white and it came out perfect!! Going with the other one as my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Foster Carey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I tried this recipe 3 times, following the instructions to a T and taking the advice of the reviewers here, yet still when I had left them overnight they were just a goopy mess in the morning. Very disappointing, I was planning on cutting them up and giving them as gifts today, but now I have to make a last minute run to the store to buy something instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I found that if you let the syrup mixture cool for a few minutes before you add the gelatin it doesn't foam over the smaller pan. The marshmallows were the exact same! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Just made these and I have to say that at the beginning of the process I thought I was going to have to chalk this one up as one of those recipes that sounds good but doesn't live up to the hype...., I'm happy to say, that these turned out really well. Like other reviewers have said, once you have these, you won't want to go back to the store bought marshmallows! A couple of things I noted for the next time I make them: 4T of unflavored gelatin = 5 envelopes of Knox; get your water simmering, so once you add the Knox to your 1/2 c water, you can set that on top right away - otherwise it gets a little clumpy - which, by the way, does dissolve once it warms up; the vanilla you use makes a big difference in taste, and finally, work fast when getting the final product into your pan - waiting even a minute or two makes it a bit harder to spread. Fun recipe that tastes great! Will be giving these with gourmet hot chocolate and vintage looking mugs for Christmas gifts. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These were a disaster, but a tasty disaster that ended up ok after all. I completely burned the first batch, due to my brand new candy thermometer which was 60 degrees off. Go figure. I knew I should have calibrated that thing... Second batch went much better just using the cold water test. Unfortunately I was interrupted in the middle by my 2 month old, so after breaking for a quick feeding, my gelatin mixture was already beginning to set up. I tried to pour it into my egg white mixture anyways, but "pouring" was sort of a joke by this point, so it was more like gloppy spoonfuls that got pulled up into the spinning mechanism of my KA mixer. Glop got EVERYWHERE. And I do mean EVERYWHERE. My husband essentially had to partially dismantle my mixer to get it clean. I don't know how I actually got ENOUGH of the glop into the egg mixture to actually make these work, but somehow I must've! These were fantastic in cocoa and I also used them to make an AWESOME homemade peppermint mocha. (Made peppermint mallows instead of vanilla). My kids were eating them by the spoonful. Even I enjoyed them, and I actually hate marshmallows. So, despite the disasters, call me crazy, but I'm making another batch today. Only thing I'll change is to cut the peppermint extract to 1/2 tsp. One full tsp was just a little too strong for my tastes. Next project: Hot chocolate on a stick with a homemade peppermint marshmallow in between two chocolate blocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
We made them with cherry flavored gelatin (mostly because we were out of unflavored) and they were delicious! I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pommiegurl130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good. SO when I made them there was no "explosion" or "expansion" of the sugar/gelatin mixture. I was worried it wouldn't work but when I mixed it with the egg whites it worked great. At first it took a while in my kitchenaid mixer to get the egg white/sugar/gelatin mixture to form stiff peaks but it did "grow" in size. I got a doulble batch from this one recipe. Double meaning I made 2 8x8 pans with leftovers! My husband a three year old liked the marshmallow cream. I made one batch as the recipe called for and the other batch peppermint. It only took me 30 minutes. I will definently make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yep! This is the one. I doubled the batch, used parchment paper in a 13x9 pan and when they were set I pulled the whole thing out onto the counter to cut. I used all purpose flour to keep them from sticking while cutting and they turned out perfect! Love me some (kosher!) mallows :) Another hint: do yourself a favor and start the gelatin 20 min before the syrup so it's all ready at the same time. Also when you have the finished product ready to go into pans you can throw in your butter and Rice Krispies, press that into the pan and there you have some RK treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Jellybean Bark

This easy Easter confection is like peppermint bark but with fruity jellybeans.

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States