Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The ingredients were good, but the order of doing things was off. (That's the only reason for the 3 stars) I made the first batch in the order it was written, but it was very stressful. My syrup was done way before my eggs so it had to just sit there. It got kinda clumpy so it didn't pour well into the eggs. The second time I made it, I changed the order. I started my eggs, then I started the geletin, then I started the sugar mixture. This was smoother going. The eggs were done before my syrup mixture so the syrup poured into the eggs nice and smooth. Also, just a yummy tip for those who want something a little different. Instead of vanilla, I bought flavoring to add to it. I did cheesecake flavor and they were so yummy!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I'd definitely say it tastes like marshmallows... but the consistency just isn't fluffy or light enough in my opinion. These came out very very chewy. Interesting concept.. but I wasn't very "wow"-ed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
little messy to make, but well worth it. I will never buy marshmallows from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMcknett
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oakland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this homemade marshmallow to replace a marshmallow topping for s'mores pie that used 5 egg whites, because I didn't have that many. Despite some difficulty getting the gelatine to dissolve, it ended up making a LOT of tasty marshmallow. I added extra vanilla, because I really like it. In the end, I only have one small warning - beware of the extreme stickyness! I've found that it's easier to cut the marshmallow if you run a sharp knife under hot water then dry it off (otherwise the marshmallow will stick to it and you will NEVER get it off cleanly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Lauren

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KICKS
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made these once and they didn't work but I think that was my fault the second time I made them they were perfect! I've had them for a bit of time and they're still good. They make a really nice melted top for hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see why Emily is famous. Our family does not eat pork products, so homemade marshmallows are the only way for us to enjoy them. I get beef gelatin at Akins. And let me tell you, Sa'mores made from these marshmallows are to die for! Oh yeah, they are the best for hot chocolate too! I can just imagine "Peeps", moon pies, rocky road ice cream...I have to go make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
My sister and I decided to make this recipe to see what all the hype was with homemade marshmallows. We planned on making it strictly according to the recipe, but once we realized how involved it was (for marshmallows, anyway), we decided to skip the vanilla and go with the peppermint and red food coloring idea. The results were fantastic. Now we wonder why they don't sell peppermint marshmallows in the store. It tastes great by itself or with hot chocolate or a latte. I did use a large bowl when mixing the syrup and gelatin (the other reviewers were right-it really does explode like a science experiment!) And the hot water really does help with cutting and clean up. This recipe, in peppermint form, is a keeper. Too much trouble in the regular version, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
've made these a few times now, always with outstanding results. My marshmallow chicks were not the most attactive (picture pastel yellow dog poo) but for they are taste wonderful, and are perfect for doing chocolate marshmallow eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These were good, I guess. they just tasted like marshmallows, but they cost way too much money$$$
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I had high hopes for this recipe, but it unfortunately didn't turn out- It never solidified (it stayed the consistency of frosting) and it had an odd aftertaste. It's not the best candy, but it would make an nice frosting or filling for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @lyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States