Emily's Famous Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
The final product is wonderful...especially if instead of vanilla you add peppermint extract, or caramel flavoring. I have only one complaint the recipe didn't warn us that when you add the warm gelatin mixture to the hot sugar mixture it GROWS ALOT. Do NOT use a small saucepan or you'll be scraping sugar boogers off of everything when the pan bubbles over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this and it turned out great, I added 4 drops of pepermint oil, then folded in 4 drops of randomly placed red food coloring to make peppermint "candy cane" marshmallows. awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Yummy! 2 tips that will help any marshmallow recipe: 1. use 1/2 cup of the water called for to dissolve your gelatin. Before heating the sugar mixture, put the gelatin and 1/2cup COLD water together in your mixer and let it dissolve. Must be COLD water, that's the trick. #2 When you begin the final mixing, start on low or medium-low. The mixture will thicken as it cools and you can gradually turn up the speed to ultra-high without flinging it out of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Unfortunately I must have missed the review that said use a large bowl to mix the gelatin and sugar... It went everywhere and burned all over my new stove ... bad deal USE A BIG BOWL to mix sugar and gelatin.. or else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The ingredients were good, but the order of doing things was off. (That's the only reason for the 3 stars) I made the first batch in the order it was written, but it was very stressful. My syrup was done way before my eggs so it had to just sit there. It got kinda clumpy so it didn't pour well into the eggs. The second time I made it, I changed the order. I started my eggs, then I started the geletin, then I started the sugar mixture. This was smoother going. The eggs were done before my syrup mixture so the syrup poured into the eggs nice and smooth. Also, just a yummy tip for those who want something a little different. Instead of vanilla, I bought flavoring to add to it. I did cheesecake flavor and they were so yummy!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I'd definitely say it tastes like marshmallows... but the consistency just isn't fluffy or light enough in my opinion. These came out very very chewy. Interesting concept.. but I wasn't very "wow"-ed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
little messy to make, but well worth it. I will never buy marshmallows from the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMcknett
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oakland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this homemade marshmallow to replace a marshmallow topping for s'mores pie that used 5 egg whites, because I didn't have that many. Despite some difficulty getting the gelatine to dissolve, it ended up making a LOT of tasty marshmallow. I added extra vanilla, because I really like it. In the end, I only have one small warning - beware of the extreme stickyness! I've found that it's easier to cut the marshmallow if you run a sharp knife under hot water then dry it off (otherwise the marshmallow will stick to it and you will NEVER get it off cleanly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Lauren

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KICKS
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I made these once and they didn't work but I think that was my fault the second time I made them they were perfect! I've had them for a bit of time and they're still good. They make a really nice melted top for hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see why Emily is famous. Our family does not eat pork products, so homemade marshmallows are the only way for us to enjoy them. I get beef gelatin at Akins. And let me tell you, Sa'mores made from these marshmallows are to die for! Oh yeah, they are the best for hot chocolate too! I can just imagine "Peeps", moon pies, rocky road ice cream...I have to go make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Emily’s Tip for Heart-Shaped Cupcakes

See a simple trick for making fun heart-shaped cupcakes.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States