Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
An Excellant cut out cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Not terrible, but definitely not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
5 stars with regards of ease for preparation. 3 stars for chocolately flavor. Good recipe for mother's of toddlers. I rolled the dough into balls and made thumbprints and put chocolate chips in thumbprints. When cookies came out of the oven, I spread out the melted chocolate, doesn't look as pretty as drizling chocolate, but is a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Smelled lovely, and cookies baked up crisp. Maybe I rolled it out too thin? The dough was quite easy to work with / roll out though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
These cookies are terribly dry. I took them to a party and they got referred to as doggie cookies. They tasted a little better dipped in chocolate. Would not recommend this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KARENGANELEE
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Substituted 1/2 c more cocoa for 1/2 c flour, added pinch of baking soda. Melted the butter, mixed the wet ingredients, sifted the dry ingredients together, added the dry to the wet. Chilled it for about 30 minutes. Rolled 1/4 inch thick. 1 1/2 inch heart cookies took 6 minutes, 3 inch heart cookies took 8 minutes. These are sturdy enough to use in cookie bouquets. I did not add chocolate, but piped icing. Excellent flavor. They are better after several hours rather than straight out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very good cookies! I softened the butter instead of cutting it in- much less work and they turned out wonderful. I took SugarPlum's advice and increased the cocoa (by 1/4 cup) and decreased the flour by the same amount. I'm glad I did- the chocolate flavor is perfect for me. Used organic cocoa and one cup whole wheat pastry flour. Dough was a tiny bit sticky so I stuck it in the fridge for 20 minutes and rolled it out between wax paper. Cut into heart shapes and frosted with pink frosting (Decorator Frosting from this site) for Valentine's Day. I found between 7.5 -8 minutes to be the pefect baking time, depending on how thick the cookies were. My babies helped me make these and LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I just came back to get this recipe because I lost it and I use it every Christmas to make our "Perfect Men" cookies: gingerbread men made of chocolate shortbread. We love this recipe, but we change it just a little. We use 1/2 cup extra cocoa and 1/2 cup less of flour. This way, the dough is the same consistency, but flavor is much more chocolatey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This recipe made gorgeous cookies for our First Communion reception! I formed the cookies using a chalice cookie cutter, then dipped the bottoms in Ghirardelli mint chocolate and "frosted" the tops with a raspberry glaze. Passing this recipe along has been a request gladly fulfilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The cookie is okay but not at all "extra chocolaty". The texture is good. I own a cookie business and was trying out a few chocolate shortbread recipes. The search continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELALOVESDMB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States