Emily's Famous Chocolate Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
It didn't resemble a shortbread in taste at all. It was a cookie so my kids ate it, but I wasn't impressed. It wasn't buttery, crispy of chocolaty enough for the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made a huge batch of these right before a party and I don't know what went wrong but they were so dry and dense I couldn't even chew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Bateman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Perfect! These cookies were exactly what I was looking for. I followed others suggestions of adding extra cocoa and I added some chocolate chips (about 1/2 a bag) at the end. After I added the eggs and vanilla I ended up having to mix the dough by hand. It was very stiff, but perfect for rolling and cutting. They are crunchy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I followed one reviewer and substituted an extra 1/2c of cocoa for the 1/2c of flour. Lovely dense texture. The melted chocolate chip topping makes the cookie. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dimples
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I just love this recipe! I've been using for it all the wedding favors I make. I also make a version on a skewer stick, by inserting a wet skewer stick just before baking. My version of the recipe is, I add 1 cup of cocoa and 1 cup of cornflour but less cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
These turned out really great - held there shape and tasted good. A nice change of pace from standard sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Just used this as the "crust" for a chocolate mousse tart-I did decrease the flour and substitute cocoa according to other rater's proportions. 1/2 of the recipe worked great for a standard tart pan and I just pressed it in. After cooling, I spread hot fudge (not warmed, but straight out of the jar) and then I topped with "chocolate mousse" (1 sm. pkg choc inst. choc pudding mixed with 1 cup milk and folded into 1 pint of whipping cream that was whipped). Plan to serve with raspberry sauce-can't wait! curious to see how the cookie crust will slice-but am sure it will be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely fantastic and to make them double chocolatey I dipped in melted choc chips/Almond Bark. I made them look like biscoti dipped in chocolate. And they freeze great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As suggested by others, I increased the cocoa and decreased the flour accordingly. This was a tasty recipe with an easy to work with dough. It is too fragile to work with detailed or large (over 2") cutters though. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
So tasty! I substituted mint extract for the vanilla and made my own thin mints! Nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States