Emily's Famous Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Good banana and oat flavor, but a bit dry. First off, I'm sure it's a misprint but I put in 1 WHOLE egg, instead of a tablespoon of egg! I subbed canola oil for vegetable oil, 1 cup of all purpose flour in place of 2 cups of wheat flour. For some who may not know rolled oats are old-fashioned oats, not quick cooking. Finally, I added 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed. The batter was very thick, filled my paper liners 3/4's of the way full. My muffins cooked in 20 minutes and I got 14 muffins. Next time I will try applesauce in place of the oil and maybe a handful of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Updated amounted of egg from 1 tablespoon to 1 whole. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I didn't have any baking soda so I used half plain flour and half self raising flour which made them rise beautifully. I also used white sugar though I am sure brown would be better for flavour next time. They seemed a little dry so I'd keep my eye on them at 20 mins baking time rather than the full 25. Lovely muffins thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I'm always looking for new ways to use up bananas. Now that my dad knows I bake a lot with bananas, he's now bringing all his ripe ones for me to use. I followed GodivaGirl's lead and cut back on the flour, as she thought it was too thick. I did half a cup of wheat and half a cup of white. I added in a half teaspoon of salt and a little bit of nutmeg. End result was a moist, flavorful banana muffin. I think if I were to make these again, some chopped walnuts would make these perfection. Super fast to throw together tonight as to have less of a hassle for Sunday breakfast. I plan on pairing it with a fresh fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These were wonderful and didn't need any changes to the recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fantastic muffins. They came out very moist and delicious. I used 1 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour, and 1/4 cup of white flour. I added a tablespoon of ground flaxseed and 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips. My husband and I ate these right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Amazing, these are my new favourite muffins. I used a quarter cup white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this recipe with one cup white flour instead of any wheat; one cup quick oats instead of slow-cooking; 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. It was really good, especially considering the reduction in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These were good, I substituted the oil for 1/8 cup oil and the rest unsweetened applesauce. They still turned out good with less fat. The oatmeal made them a little heavy but they were definitely filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Love the recipe; the muffins turned out great. I read some of the other reviews and used less white flour and 1/2 oil 1/2 applesauce. I loved the texture the oats gave the muffins though... Yum! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States