Emily's Famous Banana Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These were delicous. They are a bit dry, but we ate them warm with some butter and loved every bite. The oatmeal gives great texture!!! Next time I think I'll add a 1/4 cup of applesauce to lend some moisture. I plan on making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This really is an excellent recipe! I loved both the taste and the texture. I doubled the cinnamon since we like a stronger cinnamon taste and used dark brown sugar since that's what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I followed to a T except replaced brown sugar with 7/8 cup white sugar and a tablespoon of molasses, and decreased flour to 1.5 cups. For those of you getting dry muffins, maybe you are using small bananas. Mine were very large - about 1.3 pounds with the peel on altogether. I made this into a bread pan, and it baked in about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
this is recipe is amazing! i traded 1/8 c oil for 1/4 c applesauce and added 1/4 c milled flax seed and they are a perfect snack for my bodybuilder hubby!! and as healthy asw they are, my toddler loves them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I had saved this recipe because it sounded so good and used whole wheat flour and oats. The rating was good until I read the reviews. It is of no value to me if the reviewers have significantly changed the recipe! I'll find another recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe pretty closely. I decreased the amount of baking power to about 1/2 Tbl because of the "metalic taste" comment. I started with one cup flour and one cup oats but found I needed to add about 1/3 cup more flour to make the consistency right. I added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg, about 3/4 cup chopped walnuts, and about 3/4 cup chopped dates. This yielded 12 regular sized muffins plus 16 mini muffins. My husband gave them 5 stars. I'm going with 4 because I made changes. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
After reading other reviews I substituted vanilla yogurt and a touch of olive oil at the end instead of the vegetable oil, also added honey and walnuts to taste. I topped these with lowfat carmel apple dip after baking instead of traditional icing to entice my teenager and she loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great basic recipe that I followed verbatim the first time. I found it to be a bit too sweet for my taste, and slightly dry, so I modified it. ~~ reduced brown sugar to 1/2 cup ~~ used 5 mashed bananas ~~ reduced oil to 1/4 cup ~~ added 1/4 cup applesauce ~~ added roasted, chopped walnuts ~~ sprinkled tops with toasted wheat germ My hubby eats one on the way to work with his coffee and my 2 1/2 year old can have as a nutritious snack. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I liked these. I didn't have wheat flour, so used 1c white instead. Next time I will try them replacing half of the oil with applesauce. They were a bit heavy on the oil for me. I also added some chopped pecans to half of the batch and preferred the ones with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Great recipe-I sometimes add chopped or shredded apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States