Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I did use 8 apples, but I bought the bagged ones, not bulk, which are usually smaller. I just put all of the ingredients in a bowl and mixed them together before pouring into the crust. Simple, and it worked. Also added a dash of nutmeg. I used frozen crusts, and for the top, I cut out a quickie flower design while it was still in the pan (6 teardrop shapes, with points toward each other). The cinnamon flavor was a little strong. I may search for ideas to tweak the recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Wonderful pie. Even my "non apple pie" friends loved it. I did mix my apples with the sugar mixture before I put them in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was the first time attempting to make a pie and this is the easiest and it tasted great. I used a pie crust recipe from Betty Croker which was really good too. I am not at all an expert on baking, and I am not a pie eater, but this pie was really light and not too sweet. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I CANNOT BAKE, but this recipe makes it seem like I am a PRO - easy, quick, and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTBC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this pie for my family, and it was gone the next day. It is an amazing recipe. Very good and vegan! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Very good and easy. I only used 5 apples. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This is the first homemade pie I ever attempted to make, and the recipe was WONDERFUL. The pie turned out great. I rolled the apple slices in the sugar mixture (instead of sprinkling the mixture onto the apples) in order to make sure I coated all the apples evenly. This was our Thanksgiving dessert, and it received rave reviews! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stargirl3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very easy and very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Sorry to say this did not work well for me at all--far, far too dry. Regrettably, I made a lattice top and everything. :( Both husband and I agree it's not one I'll make again. I'm suprised because it was so well reviewed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is the first time I've ever baked and fortunately chanced upon this simple recipe. The site wisely used this for its step-by-step tutorial; even the crust recipe was superb! As a first-timer, it took me 3hrs to assemble the pies. Of the 15 family members who tasted it, only 3 commented that the cloves was a bit overpowering. Everybody else loved the simple yet hearty apple pie. By the way, the recommended 8pcs of apples were enough to fill up two 8" pie pans. The praises I got were very encouraging -- I'll try something harder next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States