Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Oh my gosh! This apple pie is incredible. My family and I devoured it! It is going to be perfect for Thanksgiving Dinner! Thanks Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizziebrite
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This pie came out great! I omitted the clove because I have a aversion to the flavor but it was still delicious. I might try the lattice top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Although I tinkered with the provided recipe. It was a smash hit after dinner. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I think it is much better to toss the apples in the sugar/spice/flour mix. This pie ended up with layers of plain apples, and two layers of cinnamon goo. Perhaps with a few slices of butter tossed on top under the crust it would have come out better, but this was not my favorite apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This pie was super tasty, easy to make. When adding sugar keep in mind if your apples are sweet, mine were not and more sugar would have made it better. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter to the the apples and stired the ingredients in rather than pooring them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was my first time making any sort of pie, and this recipe was great! I used the 'Best Ever Pie Crust' recipe and created a lattice top. It was a huge hit and a successful first pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was an excellent pie filling. It didn't run over the pie plate at all (which happens a lot to me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wels, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I made a lot of changes to this recipe... I have made many pies in the past and found that i prefer a more moist filling; I substituted 2/3 cup white sugar with 1/3 brown and 1/3 white (love the flavor of brown sugar and apples), didn't have any spices except cinnamon (new apartment), and added two eggs to the filling mixture. I made a lattice top and brushed it with egg, then sprinkled it with coarse sugar. I also found that with my pie dish, I used about 4 apples (my pie dish is a little smaller, though...) I used Mollie Katzen's pie crust recipe; it's really easy, you can find it in the recipe section of her site (substituted the butter for margarine to make the pie parve). It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnie K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ra'anana, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
After reading all the reviews, I was surprised with how this turned out. Like another poster said it was too dry. The filling just wasn't what I expected for an apple pie. Plus it took a lot longer to bake than the 45 minutes. It was closer to 1 1/2 hours and that was with the apples sliced thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Awesome pie! A few changes I made were substituting 1/3 c brown sugar + 1/3 c white sugar for the 2/3 c white sugar for more flavor. Also added a few pats of butter before putting the top crust on. My husband is already on his second piece and raving about this pie! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States