Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Ginny in Mass
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very good easy recipe. This is the first apple pie I've ever made and I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was. I used a mix of granny smith and gala apples. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny in Mass
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is the best apple pie I have ever made. I sliced the apples a little thicker, because my family likes them thicker. I also added a handful of raisins. Of course, the family likes vanilla ice cream with it, but I like chocolate ice cream with the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Amazing, first ever attempt at an apple pie, and i tried with a latticed cover. worked perfectly and I got payed by my flatmates to make another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This being the first apple pie I have ever made, it turned out perfect (at least I thought so)and the taste was beyond description. It was easy to make and following the recipe wa simple. Highly recommend for the first timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
All I can say is mmmmmmmmmmmmmm!! i used basic flaky pie crust recipe with this and my dad loved the pie!! I am only a teen, and this was my first pie, so u can see it was incredibly easy!! I did substitute cinnamon for the cloves, because i do not like cloves, and i did not use all of the cinnamon sugar, but instead sprinkled some on the top pie shell before putting the pie in the oven, which made the crust sweet and cinnamony as well as the amazing filling. If you like mushy apples in ur pie, use macintosh, if you like firmer tart apples, use granny smith (my preference)! Enjoy...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was my first time baking a homemade pie, and it turned out pretty darn good! I followed the directions pretty closely, but also made a few changes that other reviewers recommended: I rinsed the sliced apples with water to make them wet, then tossed them in the dry mixture which turned into a gooey,soft mixture; added 1/4 tsp. of vanilla extract to the filling; did the 1/3 c. of brown and 1/3 c. white sugar mix; 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg instead of the cloves; added a little bit more sugar and cinnamon because I like my pies sweet. I used the Pilsbury crusts because I was scared to make my own since I am pretty new at baking LOL Also brushed the top of the pie with an egg wash....it turned out pretty amazing, my bf loved it! The filling was a little thick, but I think it's because I had a slight accident with the flour. LOL Definately will make again, thanks for the awesome, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was an excellent pie! I took one of the other rater's advice and added 2 tablespoons more of sugar and a bit more cinnamon. Also I didn't have nutmeg, so I left that out as well. Had it a la mode... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I love this recipe. It's simple and gives you the quintessential apple pie. I do add about 1-2 teaspoons of fresh lemon juice to keep the apples from browning and for a fresher taste. I also use nutmeg instead of cloves since I think the latter is a bit overpowering for pie. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust from this site. This is my master apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great recipe, lots of flavor. I made 3 of these bad boys for Thanksgiving. Instead of sprinkling the dry mix over the apples, I mixed all apples and dry ingredients together, then spread between 3 pies. Turned out great and I received a lot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner and we were so full we didn't even cut it until the next day. I used half granny smith apples and half pink lady. It was a great mixture. The cloves go great with the cinnamon in this pie. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States