Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
8 apples were way too many, I cut up 6 and still had too many to fit into a 9 inch deep dish pie crust. I tossed the apples with the sugar/spice mix rather than layering. I would recommend baking the pie on a cookie sheet to keep your oven clean from bubbling sugary liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe is simply amazing. It's easy too. I lay all the apples in the crust and then sprinkled the sugar mixture over it and then tossed to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I haven't made a lot of pies from scratch before. This was easy and absolutely delicious. A real hit! Gonna make it again for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was just okay for me. I had to bake it for almost twenty minutes longer, and the filling around the apples was too thick and had too much cinnamon and cloves. This was okay, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
With the 8 granny smith apples, I was able to make two pies. The flavor came out good, but the filling was a little mushy, I had to bake for more than 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Simple and flavorful. I used Johnagold apples and had a nice heaping pie with great, unadulterated cinnamon taste! (I always add a little bit of nutmeg into whatever I make that has cinnamon in it to enhance the spice flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written,it has too much cinnamon and not enough liquid. Too strong to enjoy, and I am a cinnamon fiend!! Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It has really good flavor. I try to make it like this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snblwright
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Rave, Rave, Rave. I made this for a friend who was visiting. I used some unknown apples off the tree in the yard. I used store pie crust, substituted nutmeg for cloves. I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled it with raw sugar. The first pie over cooked but was good, the second one was a picture and tasted like something from heaven. I have more apples sitting on the porch so this recipe will definitely be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Everyone loved it. I used a mix of apples that we had from the orchard and our backyard. I didnt do the top crust, i made a crumble which was delicious...and nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States