Emily's Famous Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
8 apples were way too many, I cut up 6 and still had too many to fit into a 9 inch deep dish pie crust. I tossed the apples with the sugar/spice mix rather than layering. I would recommend baking the pie on a cookie sheet to keep your oven clean from bubbling sugary liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe is simply amazing. It's easy too. I lay all the apples in the crust and then sprinkled the sugar mixture over it and then tossed to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I haven't made a lot of pies from scratch before. This was easy and absolutely delicious. A real hit! Gonna make it again for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie 'Wilken' Epp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was just okay for me. I had to bake it for almost twenty minutes longer, and the filling around the apples was too thick and had too much cinnamon and cloves. This was okay, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
With the 8 granny smith apples, I was able to make two pies. The flavor came out good, but the filling was a little mushy, I had to bake for more than 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Simple and flavorful. I used Johnagold apples and had a nice heaping pie with great, unadulterated cinnamon taste! (I always add a little bit of nutmeg into whatever I make that has cinnamon in it to enhance the spice flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as written,it has too much cinnamon and not enough liquid. Too strong to enjoy, and I am a cinnamon fiend!! Very disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It has really good flavor. I try to make it like this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snblwright
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Rave, Rave, Rave. I made this for a friend who was visiting. I used some unknown apples off the tree in the yard. I used store pie crust, substituted nutmeg for cloves. I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled it with raw sugar. The first pie over cooked but was good, the second one was a picture and tasted like something from heaven. I have more apples sitting on the porch so this recipe will definitely be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Everyone loved it. I used a mix of apples that we had from the orchard and our backyard. I didnt do the top crust, i made a crumble which was delicious...and nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States