Emily's Chipotle Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have to 5 star this one although I really only used it as a base because it was the only Slow Cooker chile that sounded good so I didn't follow the recipe exact. I made the following variations.. Meat: 1.5lbs 90% lean beef and 1lb ground turkey (we were looking for healthy chile). Dropped the chipotle peppers and only had about 4 tablespoons of chile powder in the pantry so that's all it got. My wife and I are hot food whimps so that was enough for both of us. I also used pre-minced garlic (in oil) since I didn't feel like buying a whole head for 2 cloves. I also only used half an onion because a "large onion" here is HUGE so 1/2 of one was a good cup of onions. I did use the red kidney beans as well. The final product was AWESOME, the combination didn't need any additional water or anything like others have done, but I did use less meat. I realize I took the chipotle out of the Chipotle Chili, but like I said I was really just looking for a good base crock-pot recipe for chile and this more than qualified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is pretty darn good, coming from the "Chili Queen" herself!Used quite a bit more chipotle and adobo sauce than called for, it really did make it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Thank you for the great recipe! I got FIRST Place today at my works chili cook off. Everyone loved it and all said it would have been great on Hot Dogs (Yummy Chili Dogs)...so we are gonna try that with the next batch. I only changed it up a bit: Used 2 15oz cans of kidney bean. Only used 1/2 onion Doubled the Minced chipotle peppers in adobo sauce Did not use the pepper or the tomato paste as I did not need to thinken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Being from TX, I have many chili recipes. I did use the entire can of chipotle chilies & sauce. Also didn't have the canned tomatoes, so used Rotel instead. Thanks for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Thank you Emily, this was fantastic! It's 9AM and I'm already looking forward to leftovers tonight. This is my new go-to chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Glory
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My boyfriend and I made this recipe last night and we LOVED IT!!! We made a few variations: we substituted spicy chicken sausage for pork sausage, fiery roasted tomatoes for plain tomatoes, doubled the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (which I thought would be hard to find, but were at a regular grocery store!), left out the coriander because my boyfriend hates cilantro. It was spicy, smokey and wonderful - huge hit and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
We loved this recipe! I only used one pound of ground beef instead of two. I doubled the amount of kidney beans and made them from scratch. I also didn't add the tomato paste at all, the chili was so thick already I couldn't see adding a thickener. I also cut the spices down a bit - I only put 4 tbsp of chili powder and 1/2 tbsp of cumin. Even so I found it very spicy. My husband and I both thought it was great, I think next time I will only use 1/2 lb of ground beef (but I'll still keep the whole pound of sausage), and i'll completely omit the cumin but increase the chipotle peppers to get more of the smoky flavor without increasing the spice too much. All in all a fabulous chili recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My granddaughter and I entered this in a Chili Contest at our Church last week end, and won Best Taste Award, Hottest taste, but makes you come back for more, and we named it FIRECRACKER CHILI, and won Best Name. Everyone just loved it, it was like a firecracker exploding in your mouth with all the flavors. Best Chili I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Alterations to make it even better: Double, triple, or quadruple the chipotles Add 1 cup of corn Add 1 - 2 tablespoons of the Chipotle Tabasco (to taste) I used shredded beef! MMMMMMM mmmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this recipe for a work "soup day" that we began...I upped the quantity for 15 people, so it was a bit costly but it was amazing. I added about a Tablespoon more of chipoltes than what the recipe called for. I do not like beans so about 40 mins before serving I added in about 3 cups of Ditalini pasta...so it pretty much was like chili mac...AWESOME! It had a nice slow burn to it, not super spicy and majority of people at worked liked it. I went home with just about enough for my dad and mom to have some for lunch the next day! Putting in my recipe box...it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States