Emily's Chipotle Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Hubby & I loved this chili!! Being from TX we omitted the beans, but followed recipe exactly. Only down was it could have been used a little more liquid. Think I'll add some tomato juice next time. This is very, very hearty and meaty and the adobo pepper gives a really unusual smoky taste. This will definately be MY chili recipe from now on. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ann Freeman Baskin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ennis, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
We loved this chili. I did however double the amount of chipotle peppers and sauce because we liked a little more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Glory
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My boyfriend and I made this recipe last night and we LOVED IT!!! We made a few variations: we substituted spicy chicken sausage for pork sausage, fiery roasted tomatoes for plain tomatoes, doubled the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (which I thought would be hard to find, but were at a regular grocery store!), left out the coriander because my boyfriend hates cilantro. It was spicy, smokey and wonderful - huge hit and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
My granddaughter and I entered this in a Chili Contest at our Church last week end, and won Best Taste Award, Hottest taste, but makes you come back for more, and we named it FIRECRACKER CHILI, and won Best Name. Everyone just loved it, it was like a firecracker exploding in your mouth with all the flavors. Best Chili I have ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Being from TX, I have many chili recipes. I did use the entire can of chipotle chilies & sauce. Also didn't have the canned tomatoes, so used Rotel instead. Thanks for a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I thought this chili was just ok. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great. It had a very unusual chili taste and not what I am used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This probably one of the best chili recipes that I ever tried! I made some changes to it though. I tripled the chipolte in abode sauce. I also fire roasted one red bell pepper, then chopped it up and added that to the chili recipe. I also added 2 cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes. I got some rave reviews about this chili after it was served to a bunch beer drinking guys. So take my advice, because this will taste like you simmered over an open fire for a whole day. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmyra, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
We loved this recipe! I only used one pound of ground beef instead of two. I doubled the amount of kidney beans and made them from scratch. I also didn't add the tomato paste at all, the chili was so thick already I couldn't see adding a thickener. I also cut the spices down a bit - I only put 4 tbsp of chili powder and 1/2 tbsp of cumin. Even so I found it very spicy. My husband and I both thought it was great, I think next time I will only use 1/2 lb of ground beef (but I'll still keep the whole pound of sausage), and i'll completely omit the cumin but increase the chipotle peppers to get more of the smoky flavor without increasing the spice too much. All in all a fabulous chili recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genie Bohl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Alterations to make it even better: Double, triple, or quadruple the chipotles Add 1 cup of corn Add 1 - 2 tablespoons of the Chipotle Tabasco (to taste) I used shredded beef! MMMMMMM mmmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I adjusted the seasonings to suit our taste (threw in a couple of Knorr tomato and chipotle bouillon cubes), and had to add about a cup of water as it was very very thick. This turned out to be one of the best chilis I have ever made. Served it with jalepeno cornbread. Thanks, emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States