Emily's Chipotle Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I can't give this a 5 star b/c I didn't make it exactly as written. I left out the sausage completely and just used ground beef. Also, we doubled the amount of chipotle peppers, could have possibly even tripled it for our tastes. It was too thick, so I added a can of beef broth. This turned out to be an AWESOME chili recipe. I will use this from now on. I might even try substituting chicken for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Thank you for the great recipe! I got FIRST Place today at my works chili cook off. Everyone loved it and all said it would have been great on Hot Dogs (Yummy Chili Dogs)...so we are gonna try that with the next batch. I only changed it up a bit: Used 2 15oz cans of kidney bean. Only used 1/2 onion Doubled the Minced chipotle peppers in adobo sauce Did not use the pepper or the tomato paste as I did not need to thinken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I was really hoping this would be fantastic, but it left something to be desired for me. I love the smokiness of the chipotle peppers, but I found the overall taste to be flat. It lacked the richness I was looking for. My hunt for the perfect chili continues... Edited to Add: I found that adding a touch of butter gives this chili enough of a boost to bump it to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is pretty darn good, coming from the "Chili Queen" herself!Used quite a bit more chipotle and adobo sauce than called for, it really did make it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I have to 5 star this one although I really only used it as a base because it was the only Slow Cooker chile that sounded good so I didn't follow the recipe exact. I made the following variations.. Meat: 1.5lbs 90% lean beef and 1lb ground turkey (we were looking for healthy chile). Dropped the chipotle peppers and only had about 4 tablespoons of chile powder in the pantry so that's all it got. My wife and I are hot food whimps so that was enough for both of us. I also used pre-minced garlic (in oil) since I didn't feel like buying a whole head for 2 cloves. I also only used half an onion because a "large onion" here is HUGE so 1/2 of one was a good cup of onions. I did use the red kidney beans as well. The final product was AWESOME, the combination didn't need any additional water or anything like others have done, but I did use less meat. I realize I took the chipotle out of the Chipotle Chili, but like I said I was really just looking for a good base crock-pot recipe for chile and this more than qualified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
One of the best chili recipes! I substituted the meat with shredded chicken. I will definitely be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I adjusted the seasonings to suit our taste (threw in a couple of Knorr tomato and chipotle bouillon cubes), and had to add about a cup of water as it was very very thick. This turned out to be one of the best chilis I have ever made. Served it with jalepeno cornbread. Thanks, emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Alterations to make it even better: Double, triple, or quadruple the chipotles Add 1 cup of corn Add 1 - 2 tablespoons of the Chipotle Tabasco (to taste) I used shredded beef! MMMMMMM mmmmmm Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
We loved this recipe! I only used one pound of ground beef instead of two. I doubled the amount of kidney beans and made them from scratch. I also didn't add the tomato paste at all, the chili was so thick already I couldn't see adding a thickener. I also cut the spices down a bit - I only put 4 tbsp of chili powder and 1/2 tbsp of cumin. Even so I found it very spicy. My husband and I both thought it was great, I think next time I will only use 1/2 lb of ground beef (but I'll still keep the whole pound of sausage), and i'll completely omit the cumin but increase the chipotle peppers to get more of the smoky flavor without increasing the spice too much. All in all a fabulous chili recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genie Bohl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This probably one of the best chili recipes that I ever tried! I made some changes to it though. I tripled the chipolte in abode sauce. I also fire roasted one red bell pepper, then chopped it up and added that to the chili recipe. I also added 2 cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes. I got some rave reviews about this chili after it was served to a bunch beer drinking guys. So take my advice, because this will taste like you simmered over an open fire for a whole day. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmyra, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States