Emilia's Cuban Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I love this recipe however, altered it a little. I include a jalapeño with the onion and omit the olives, parsley and achiote seeds. We love heat in the south so I also add hot sauce. Even my boyfriend who doesn't care for beans loves this recipe. I serve them with yellow rice and homemade pico (diced tomatoes and onions with garlic and cilantro in lime juice) topped with sour cream. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Bland and I added Goyan Sazon packet, and used all the fresh ingredients. Something definetly got lost in the sauce. I added so much fresh salsa to kick it up I lost all of what little flavor was there. Too much liquid even though I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made this recipe as is because I wanted the 'Cuban' flavor. This was not a huge hit with the family. They grinned and bore it. Everybody thought it was too spicy. So, with the left overs I poured some condensed milk over the dish and then grated some sharp cheese to top it off. The milk cut the spice down and the cheese . . . well, cheese makes everything better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Pretty good, but needed some tweaking to please my preferences. Had to add more garlic. Don't care for pimento-stuffed olives so I omitted them. Added some diced tomato and red bell pepper. Served over Saffron Rice (customized by Bill). Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
such a flavorful dish! i made a simplified and smaller version of this recipe without the meat and achiote seeds. used dried herbs instead of fresh, and balsamic vinegar in lieu of lime juice, and added a a tsp of liquid smoke. the beans cooked down to a rich black sauce. soooo good and sooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I thought this recipe was quite flavorful. I cut the serving size to 4 as I was only cooking 1 cup of dried beans. I also hot soaked the beans first (boil 3-4 minutes then let sit in water for 3 hours). Didn't have the annato seeds, and omitted the olives based on personal tastes. Used all dry herbs except the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This recipe is fantastic & authentic. I agree that Pork is an absolute necessity for Cuban Black Beans. I'll often use a smoked pork foot. If folks want more spice, it's easy to add. I wouldn't rate this recipe down for that. It's nice to have a slow cooker option for us working woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coleman Bell
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I sometimes add a packet of Sazon Goya con Azafran to this recipe if it is seeming a little lifeless. It is a nice switch up from the basic recipe. Additionally, a shot of powdered garlic or onion is often added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleman Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love black beans & I thought the concept of this dish was interesting. I followed the directions exactly. It was a very bland dish. I added some hot sauce which helped. I am not going add this to my recipe box. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States