Emerald Green Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I loved the flavor of ricotta cheese instead of using Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tckohlhorst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe. I subbed asparagus and zucchini for the broccoli and green beans, because that's what I had on hand. It does take a lot of string, but is excellent for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Toddler loved it! I was looking for an alternative to the broccoli cheese rice casserole made with cans of soup, and this is it. The best part is you can use whatever veggies you have, and leave out ones you don't. I used frozen broccoli florets, carrots, and celery, and my toddler couldn't get enough. I also agree that the feta cheese goes a long way to make it seem really cheesy. I let it simmer a little longer so the rice became softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
New family favorite! It helped that most of the greens came from our garden, but the combination of everything all together was delicious. Husband had seconds, son had thirds saying, "Dee-lish!" I made it without cheese because my husband can't have dairy products, but I did put in a good scoop of Earth Balance so it would have a little somethin' extra to replace the cheese. I didn't stir it constantly and I think I ought to have. The rice wasn't quite done by the time all the broth was soaked in, so I made some more broth with Better Than Bouillon - too much, actually, so it all turned out a little soggy perhaps, but that didn't stop us from loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Thought this was just ok. I didn't have white wine in the house since I'm pregnant, so after doing some searching online, I used some ginger ale as a substitute. Also, I omitted the green beans because the ones at the store didn't look so good. Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Ultimately, I think it needs some more acid - maybe some lemon juice or maybe some halved or quartered cherry tomatoes (which ruins the "emerald green" effect, I suppose). Might also be tastier with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I didn't like this at all. I followed directions exactly and found it sour tasting (vs rich) and for some reason celery was the predominant flavor. I used regular veggie broth but it would have been better with low/no salt broth. Some veggies were too crisp while some were soft and even with extra cheese, it was very....um...canned soup tasting. After reading all the 5 star reviews I was expecting a great meal but it was really disappointing for us. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I try to eat less meat but often feel like good vegetarian recipes are hard to come by, this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Surprisingly good because it didn't sound like it would be that great. I used what I had - broccoli, zucchini, green peas, and spinach - it was good and we ate it all. I think any vegetables would be good, along with a sub of parm if you don't have feta. I used all the chicken stock which did take a long time, at least 20 minutes to cook and stir. Worth it. I think next time I will add something not green for color, like roasted red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cincysly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This turned out so good! I have never made risotto before, and it turned out just wonderfully! Almost like a restaurant. Wow. The only thing I changed was that I used parm instead of feta and I added carrots. So good, Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Pretty good, although I made it a little less healthy with almost a full cup of parmesan instead of the feta. If there were some other major flavor involved, feta would have probably be fine. I thought this really needed a strong-flavored cheese. After reading reviews, I added the veggies just after I poured the second helping of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States