Em and Nic's Apple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
WOW! What a great dish ... Would NEVER have thought to mix these various flavors. Only thing I did different was transfer the chicken and raisins to a dish and thicken the sauce with a bit of corn starch. Also, added 1 peeled, cored and chopped apple to the sauce just as it was beginning to thicken. Certainly a keeper in my book... Thanks for posting this DEE Licious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I made this since I had two children visiting. They did not like it at all nor did the adults. I would not suggest this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Wonderful "Fall" dish. I made it as my father carved pumkins with my kids. The smell in my home was awesome. I added cut up apples and sprinkled feta cheese over the top. I also thickened the sauce with cornstarch.Gorgonzala cheese would be even better but I didn't have any in the house. It reminded me of spice cake! My kids like spice cake. If you are not a fan of spice you may not like this dish. My 4 year old ate it all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This is a fantastic recipe!!!! It is very easy to make and tastes gourmet. The chicken takes on the flavor of the spices and apple and the raisins soak up the sweetness of the juice. If you don't like things too sweet don't eat the raisins. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
My favorite easy recipe. I feel like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I think this one may be more suited for children than adults. It was just too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Bleh! We did not like the flavor on this one at all. I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The sauce is excellent, but I will agree with the other reviewers who thought that the chicken itself lacked flavor. Not sure if I should cook it slower next time or marinade it in the sauce before hand. That being said, the sauce is delicious it's just that the chicken needs to absorb more of the flavor. Also, I might try this over some jasmine rice or couscous next time to bind everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Not very flavorful, but has some potential. Going to try to bake this dish instead to get the flavors more firmly rooted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Great recipe. Loved how the spices made a coating on the chicken pieces. We tossed the remaining sauce with pasta - a repeater for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States