Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I poked holes in mine before pouring the pineapple mixture on top so it wouldn't slide off. It turned out well but the finished product is basically just a plain white cake (you can't see the pineapple and sugar in it) with a very heavy frosting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
What a wonderful cake - there was nothing left of it to bring home. However, I made some changes after reading previous reviews. Here is what I did. I used a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple, this gave a better covering of the caked. I also used just 3/4 cup of sugar to cooked the pineapple in. 2c. sugar is unnecessary. All you want the sugar to do is to more or less cook the pineapple down and give it a glaze. Then I used a slotted spoon to drain the liquid off as I was spreading it on the cake. Doing this will still give you the necessary moisture. I also sprinkled the nuts on top of the frosting instead as per instrustions, this gave it a nice appearance. Will I make it again? YOU BET ON IT! It had my husband howling with delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This recipe is a keeper. I did make some revisions though. I only used 1 cup of sugar in the syrup and reduced the sugar in the frosting to 3 cups. There was still plenty of sweetness. I used someone else's suggestion and sprinkled the pecans on top. (I thought the frosting would look lumpy with the nuts mixed in).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Great cake and really simple! I followed some of the other suggestions and doubled the pineapple (but didn't use all of the juice) and used 1.5 cups of sugar. I took it to a get together and everyone raved about it. I thought that it was even better after being in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Very rich and great tasting cake! A must have for anyone with a big sweet tooth. My kids loved it and asked for more. Thanks Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Ohmygosh! This will be one of my favorites! We love pineapple and we love cream cheese frosting. I took this to a family affair and everyone loved it. I refrigerated it so it was cool when we served it and very refreshing! I wasn't a great Elvis fan but I am now. ( I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/3 cups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Fantastic Cake! It was terribly sweet and even gave me a sweet headache, but well worth it! It was the first thing to disappear at my party! I was a little confused though. I still had a lot of frosting left over. Next time, I think I will decrease the amount of Confectioners' Sugar to lessen the amount of frosting! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This is a wonderful and quick to make cake to take to work or any family functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My mom loves "the king" so i decided to make this cake for her birthday dinner. She loved it as did all of the guests. I did think it might be too sweet so i only used one cup of sugar with the pineapple and only about 3 cups of the icing sugar in the cream cheese mixture. I also decided to sprinkle the walnuts on the cake instead of mixing it in the icing. It made spreading the icing much easier and the presentation was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States