Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Cake was excellent. I adjusted the recipe using a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and only 1 cup of sugar. I used 2-1/2 cups of powdered sugar for the cream cheese topping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I have made this cake a couple of times for work and always get asked for the recipe. It is really so simple!! I use two cans of pineapple but only the juice from one. I used the yellow cake mix with pudding. I also poke holes in the cooled cake with a toothpick before spooning the pineapple topping on. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I take this to work regularly and it always disappears quickly. I have used yellow cake mix as well as the white and I think I prefer the yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This is very good and very sweet. I did make one change. I didn't have any butter so I added 2 T of water when making the frosting. Next time I think I will only use 2 C of powdered sugar because it is too sweet but overall it is definately an excellent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
this is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was super good! I didn't have any pineapple in my house so I pureed a can of sliced peaches instead- yum! I didn't think it was too sweet- I did cut the glaze sugar down to 1.5 cups per reviews, but I think the 2 would have been okay too. I omitted the pecans also. Was super moist even a couple days after making it- made a huge heavy cake. Will try with pinapple next time, but as I said, the peach was delicious and refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Holy Mackeral! This was triple sweet! What the heck was I thinking? I just don't know who in the world could eat this and take more than one bite. It was so sweet. I even followed other reviewers suggestions and cut the sugars down, but it was like a cavity waiting to happen. I feel bad giving a bad review, but i will not make this again. I am going to be nice and give it three stars, but that is very generous. It should be re-named "sugar ball with sugar frosting super sweet cake from hell".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Oh My! This is really really sweet. I should have followed the suggestions of other reviewers, but I didn't because I wanted to be able to make my own adjustments to my taste after following the recipe. I did however use 3 cups of PS rather then 4, and it was still entirely too much. This recipe will be perfect using only 1 cup of white sugar with the pineapple, and only 2 cups of Powdered sugar. Also, the cream cheese taste was really overpowered by the powdered sugar so next time, I am going to use about 12 oz rather then 8. After these minor adjustments, it will definately be a 5 star, but as it stands now, I can only rate it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
After reading other reviews, I used only 1 cup of white sugar and 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. IT WAS PERFECT!! When I poured the pineapple sugar mixture over the cake, I was skeptical, but when the cake was actually served, the cake had absorbed all of the juices and was so lucious. I made this for Papa's 65th birthday because he is an Elvis fan. EVERYONE loved the cake. I will definitely keep this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Made this for my dad's 83rd birthday. Served Hawiian Bread and the Cantonese Dinner w/ Rice. To cut Calories and I used Light Butter, lite Cream Cheese all egg whites instead of whole eggs, IF I had had Splenda on hand I would have used that instead of sugar. Did follow other sugg. ie. poked holes in cake and drained abt 1/2 of juice off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Moye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States