Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Like other reviewers I found that there's not enough pineapple and way too much sugar,as well as too much icing, so, I adapted this recipe by using a 19 oz can of pineapple, 1 cup sugar, then used about 2/3 of the icing. very good icing...I've used this icing recipe (without the nuts) for years for various cakes. yummm! I'd give this recipe 3 stars but must give it 4 plus with the changes. Next time I'll try it by thickening the pineapple with cornstartch, no sugar added, see what happens. It was still too sweet, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I've already reviewed this cake once, and I still hold firm on my five-star rating. I just wanted to add that I made it this time with pineapple cake mix, and while it was still very good, I prefer it with white cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was so excited to try this because it sounded sooo yummy. I was, however, a little disappointed. I found that the pineapple topping made the cake soggy and I don't like soggy cake. My son loved it and gave it 5 stars.. I give it three, so I'll compromise with 4. *Icing is GREAT*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This is a wonderful light cake. I also make it with french vanilla cake mix and it is great. People ask me all the time to make my "pineapple cake", it is now a family favorite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I followed other's suggestions and cut back on the sugar and added more pineapple to the recipe and it turned out well. I took this to a potluck dinner and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is a wonderful surprise to serve at a pot luck social gathering. Quilters love the name of this cake. Absolutely delicious. Thank ya, thank ya very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Slaton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This cake is wonderful. It would be perfect served at a bridal shower. I poked holes in the cake before pouring the pineapple on top. It makes the liquid absorb into the cake better. Thanks for this great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Great cake! I think you should follow the recipe exactly! It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Cake was excellent. I adjusted the recipe using a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and only 1 cup of sugar. I used 2-1/2 cups of powdered sugar for the cream cheese topping. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States