Elvis Presley Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Slaughter1
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this just as the recipe reads except I placed nuts on top of icing and it was WONDERFUL! I though it would be too sweet, but it's yummy. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I made this cake with some modifications and it was fit for a King! I used two single layer pans so it could be displayed on my cake plate. Very good, though very rich. Will save for special occasions or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I loved it! Made a few changes too: added more vanilla and some almond flavoring. Was I supposed to cook the pineapples and sugar until it was of syrup consistency? I used 32oz of powdered sugar (1 whole bag); which made the icing very thick. Was that correct? This icing is soooo rich that you can only eat a very small piece of cake at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This cake is way too rich. You have to warm the icing up and pour over the cake. There is too much icing for one cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beverly Z
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Loved this Cake! I read the other reviews before making the cake. I made adjustment to the amount of sugar decreasing from 2 cups to 1 that was combined with the pineapple. I increased the pineapple to 20 ounce can with most of the juice. I decreased the sugar in the frosting by one cup. After the cake had cooled I poked holes in the cake. I added 1/4 cup of pecans finely chopped to the icing for a little texture. And refrigerated it before sharing with friends. They loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I love to make this cake for holiday gatherings. I agree the recipe calls for too much sugar, so I always decrease to 1 cup mixed with 20 oz. of pineapple and 2 cups in the frosting. Plenty sweet and so moist it melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by indigo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This cake was delicious!! I made it for my mother's birthday because she loves Elvis and Pina Coladas so I thought it was perfect. I made a few changes. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup such as the others suggested. I also added some coconut extract to the frosting and cake mix. I also toasted some coconut flakes and covered the cake in them for decoration. Everyone loved it! The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because it was a bit dry, next time I'll maybe put some pineapples in the cake mix or pineapple juice to make it moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
"Fabulous" doesn't do this cake justice - it was absolutely delicious! Used yellow cake mix as I didn't have white...so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic! Took others advice and added the nuts on top of the cake for a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Yum! Didn't change anything in the recipe and it was delicious! Family loved it... a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States