Elva's Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My SO really liked this but I was on the fence. It's definitely sweet, as others have commented, but the texture is a little weird. A little too gelatinous? And the flavor is a little too eggy. It's just slightly off in taste and texture in a way that I can't get over. The custard I'm used to is more dairy based I think, less egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We did not like this. It was like a sweet omelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Egg custard pie has always been my favorite but this was the first time I have ever made it. It was just like my mom's egg custard pie - delicious!! I followed the recipe but baked the crust for a few minutes before pouring the egg into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is one of the best custard pies I have ever tasted. It reminds me of my grandmother's custard pie. Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
My first pie. Easy, ingredients commonly found in your kitchen, and best of all DELISCIOUS! I am going to use this recipe as a base for my new found pie making confidence and try different spins on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Great! I did follow another review I saw and added extra vanilla, cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and a little bit more sugar...I do recommend doing it that way! Thanks, Evelyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnyderFamily96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Not the creamy texture I was hoping for. Will continue to search for the ultimate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was simple, very easy to make and tasted great! Only thing I would suggest is that the instructions include wrapping the crust with a ring of Aluminum foil to keep it from browning too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Real Good. I added 1/4 cup extra sugar and 1/2 milk & 1/2 evaporated milk. Enjoyed by all. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Just made this pie. Doubled the recipe and used 2 deep dish pie crusts. My only variation was, I used condensed milk and not regular milk. Excellent flavor and it set up really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States