Elsye's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
These were the greatest! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
These were pretty good, although the icing came out a little granular once it cooled. A great way to get rid of old chocolate sauce in the fridge. I took them over to a bunch of my guy friends and they demolished them (but I'm pretty sure they don't chew). Had several comments on leaving off the icing next time. I'll let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
to die for!! love them! :) I took these to a pot luck and I hardly got a chance to eat, everyone was coming up to me for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
To keep the frosting from being granular, be sure and frost the brownies when they're still warm! My father in law and friend's husband started counting how many they saw each other eat...funny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My friend makes this recipe, but she adds mini marshmallows to the top when the brownie part is done cooking, then returns it to the oven to melt the marshmallows, cools, then frosts. I used a smaller baking pan and mine came out thick and cakey with longer baking time needed (I don't have a jelly roll pan). I didn't make the frosting, but the brownie was delcious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
i have the same recipe, it was handed down to me from my grandmother about 37 years ago. the only differnce is that she added 1/4 cup of mini marshmellows, let them melt and then pour over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrylrobertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Almost everyone loved these and they were SUPER easy to make. I think I'll use less sugar next time but then again perhaps because I used Betty Crocker Chocholate Frosting in lieu of the can of chocholate syrup...I did lessen the white sugar to 1/2 a cup or so though. Still, it turned out like a nice, light sweet cake (not quite a brownie tho)...not very chocolatey (i'll add more chocholate chips next time)...I cut them into bite sized pieces and ended up eating 1/2 the cake by myself while watching tv. egads! dangerous....but basically foolproof, yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Love these brownies. The frosting seems to turn grainy or sugary. I did exactly as the recipes called for and frosted the brownies while they were still warm but it still turned grainy. My aunt's recipe called for 1 c. sugar insteadof 1 1/4c. plus 8 large marshmellows(1 large =8 mini's) and boil 1 minute instead of 3 minutes and then on low till marshmellows melt. I think the boiling three minutes turns it too grainy. Add the marshmellows with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
It was more like cake than a brownie. It was not chocolately enough and the sugar did not dissolve well in the icing, even though I left the icing on the heat longer than I would have otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
sorry did not care for them. I made the recipe just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States